Superb Cranberry Sauce with Apples and Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This was excellent, but I made a few modifications. I used ground spices (about 2 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp cloves.) I also cut the sugar way back. I used a total of 1/2 cup Splenda brown sugar blend and we all agreed that it tasted great. It was also good warm, and I even thought it would make a great fruit base for a fruit crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Was a Thanksgiving hit. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WestCoastJana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This is great for people who aren't really fond of cranberries - it has a lot of apple flavor. It's pretty good, but I personally prefer cranberry relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
My husband made this recipe last year. Everyone loved it and leftovers went too quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was the first time that I cooked homemade cranberry sauce, and I was very excited to see that this incorporated fruit other than just cranberries. I left it in the fridge for approximately 24 hours, but it didn't gel up the way that I thought it would. Also, it was delicious, but just way too sweet to eat as a side dish. My husband said that it could probably be used as filling or a topping for a dessert, because it is very sweet. Although the sweetness bothered us, the taste was very good; hence, I will be making it again. Next time, I will cut back on the sugar and use more cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I have made this cranberry compote the past three Thanksgivings...and it is ALWAYS a hit! It is a great accompaniment to the turkey and stuffing. For best results, make it a day ahead of time and refrigerate so that ingredients meld together...yum! (side note...who would ever just open a can of cranberry sauce and serve it??)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made two different cranberry sauces for Thanksgiving dinner this year - my usual Oranged Cranberry Sauce from this site, and this one. I cut it back to 8 servings, but otherwise followed the recipe. It was a beautiful, flavorful sauce, just a tad sweeter than I like. That could simply be the result of the fruit I used (pears can really vary in sweetness), and is easily fixed by adding a portion of the sugar, then adding more as needed after the fruit has had time to release its juices. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I made this last Thanksgiving and was hoping I could find the recipe again. I have been craving it all year! It was hands-down the best cranberry sauce I've ever had, and everyone else at the table (including a bunch of gourmet foodies), said the same. This year, I will make an extra batch of this to can and give the jars to my guests to take home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NE1canCook
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Lisa - This is a great recipe for Home Made Cranberry Sauce. It is so easy to make and the results are perfection!! We had a Christmas Dinner party and I used your recipe. I did not change one thing and everyone loved it!! They all wanted the recipe -so I printed up your recipe and shared it with them. Thank you for sharing it with the ALLRECIPE.COM family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NE1canCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spanish Fort, Alabama, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
dont know what happened when i rated this before but its a solid 5 ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce

Make this easy, crowd-pleasing cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States