Superb Cranberry Sauce with Apples and Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Talena
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This cranberry sauce is amazing. It is now served at every Christmas dinner. I will remember to keep corn starch or gelatin on hand though, as this year the sauce didn't set. The flavor was still a hit but had to be served in separate bowls. I also halved the recipe since this makes an entire stock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This was excellent, but I made a few modifications. I used ground spices (about 2 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp cloves.) I also cut the sugar way back. I used a total of 1/2 cup Splenda brown sugar blend and we all agreed that it tasted great. It was also good warm, and I even thought it would make a great fruit base for a fruit crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Was a Thanksgiving hit. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana Erickson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This is great for people who aren't really fond of cranberries - it has a lot of apple flavor. It's pretty good, but I personally prefer cranberry relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
My husband made this recipe last year. Everyone loved it and leftovers went too quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was the first time that I cooked homemade cranberry sauce, and I was very excited to see that this incorporated fruit other than just cranberries. I left it in the fridge for approximately 24 hours, but it didn't gel up the way that I thought it would. Also, it was delicious, but just way too sweet to eat as a side dish. My husband said that it could probably be used as filling or a topping for a dessert, because it is very sweet. Although the sweetness bothered us, the taste was very good; hence, I will be making it again. Next time, I will cut back on the sugar and use more cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn Dandreano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I have made this cranberry compote the past three Thanksgivings...and it is ALWAYS a hit! It is a great accompaniment to the turkey and stuffing. For best results, make it a day ahead of time and refrigerate so that ingredients meld together...yum! (side note...who would ever just open a can of cranberry sauce and serve it??)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made two different cranberry sauces for Thanksgiving dinner this year - my usual Oranged Cranberry Sauce from this site, and this one. I cut it back to 8 servings, but otherwise followed the recipe. It was a beautiful, flavorful sauce, just a tad sweeter than I like. That could simply be the result of the fruit I used (pears can really vary in sweetness), and is easily fixed by adding a portion of the sugar, then adding more as needed after the fruit has had time to release its juices. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I made this last Thanksgiving and was hoping I could find the recipe again. I have been craving it all year! It was hands-down the best cranberry sauce I've ever had, and everyone else at the table (including a bunch of gourmet foodies), said the same. This year, I will make an extra batch of this to can and give the jars to my guests to take home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NE1canCook
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Lisa - This is a great recipe for Home Made Cranberry Sauce. It is so easy to make and the results are perfection!! We had a Christmas Dinner party and I used your recipe. I did not change one thing and everyone loved it!! They all wanted the recipe -so I printed up your recipe and shared it with them. Thank you for sharing it with the ALLRECIPE.COM family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NE1canCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spanish Fort, Alabama, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce

Make this easy, crowd-pleasing cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States