Super Summer Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Great Recipe! It's found a spot in my favorites. Modified it a bit due to what I had in the pantry: used unsalted canned yellow corn, added a diced avocado, used half the sugar as the reviews recommended, and traded the rice wine vinegar for 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar and 1/4 cup white wine vinegar. It was an immediate smash, but the left overs are phenomenal after a night in the fridge!!! Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Made exactly as said and it was unbelievable delicious even my picky eater kids loved it. Thank you for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
My favorite salsa! We use half the sugar and add some stems of fresh cilantro to the mix. Mmm mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Delicious! I made this to take to a party. It was so easy, too. I cut the sugar to 1/4 cup and this was plenty (the rice vinegar is kind of sweet, I think) added a can of petite diced tomatoes with jalapenos (drained), a bunch of chopped cilantro and about a 1/2 TBSP of olive oil. (I was going to add a chopped avacado but it wasn't quite ripe). It was devoured. The bones of this recipe are really great and you can add to suit your personal tastes and guests. I am going to try it with other vinegars to see how it is. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susi
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Made this for book group last night! A complete hit. Only change I made was halved the sugar amount. I used one can white sweet corn and another can sweet yellow corn. Served with lime tortilla chips. Caution: Make sure you use rice wine vinegar- not just rice vinegar. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Outstanding and super easy to make. We served it as a salsa with chips and as a salsa for tacos and tostadas. I switched no calorie sweetner for the sugar and you can't thell the difference. Excellent Recipe. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Serving isn't right if you are using as a salsa. This does make much more than 6 servings. I followed other reviews and halved the sugar and still thought it was too sweet and also felt it was too much corn and not enough beans. I will make again and adjust accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was really good! I made this as a side dish to go along with some carnitas we were having and this paired perfectly. I scaled the recipe to just 2 servings, using half a can of black beans and half a can of regular yellow corn. I eyeballed the other ingredients and just threw in what looked about right. My scaled recipe called for 2 T. plus 2 t. of sugar, but I only used 2 t. in mine. That was as sweet as we wanted it. I also added just a bit of vegetable oil, which I think improved the mouth feel of this. So, my advice is to scale way back on the sugar and add it to taste, and you have a winner here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Great recipe! We also add 1 can of black eyed peas and different colored sweet peppers for color (1/2 of 3 works well). Serve with multi grain scoops it is so amazing and always gets rave reviews wherever we go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I saw and made a recipe almost identical to this a few years ago and it was a hit. Suddenly, today I was reminded of and inspired to make it again. This stuff is SO good, that you can practically just eat it with a spoon! What I really love is that it gets better every day that it sits in the fridge (so I recommend making it at least a day in advance to give all the ingredients a chance to soak up some of that great vinegar flavor. Like many of the other reviewers, I also suggest cutting the amount of sugar in half and using red wine vinegar instead of rice wine vinegar. ...it's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States