Super Summer Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Great Recipe! It's found a spot in my favorites. Modified it a bit due to what I had in the pantry: used unsalted canned yellow corn, added a diced avocado, used half the sugar as the reviews recommended, and traded the rice wine vinegar for 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar and 1/4 cup white wine vinegar. It was an immediate smash, but the left overs are phenomenal after a night in the fridge!!! Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Made exactly as said and it was unbelievable delicious even my picky eater kids loved it. Thank you for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
My favorite salsa! We use half the sugar and add some stems of fresh cilantro to the mix. Mmm mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Delicious! I made this to take to a party. It was so easy, too. I cut the sugar to 1/4 cup and this was plenty (the rice vinegar is kind of sweet, I think) added a can of petite diced tomatoes with jalapenos (drained), a bunch of chopped cilantro and about a 1/2 TBSP of olive oil. (I was going to add a chopped avacado but it wasn't quite ripe). It was devoured. The bones of this recipe are really great and you can add to suit your personal tastes and guests. I am going to try it with other vinegars to see how it is. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susi
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Made this for book group last night! A complete hit. Only change I made was halved the sugar amount. I used one can white sweet corn and another can sweet yellow corn. Served with lime tortilla chips. Caution: Make sure you use rice wine vinegar- not just rice vinegar. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Outstanding and super easy to make. We served it as a salsa with chips and as a salsa for tacos and tostadas. I switched no calorie sweetner for the sugar and you can't thell the difference. Excellent Recipe. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Serving isn't right if you are using as a salsa. This does make much more than 6 servings. I followed other reviews and halved the sugar and still thought it was too sweet and also felt it was too much corn and not enough beans. I will make again and adjust accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was really good! I made this as a side dish to go along with some carnitas we were having and this paired perfectly. I scaled the recipe to just 2 servings, using half a can of black beans and half a can of regular yellow corn. I eyeballed the other ingredients and just threw in what looked about right. My scaled recipe called for 2 T. plus 2 t. of sugar, but I only used 2 t. in mine. That was as sweet as we wanted it. I also added just a bit of vegetable oil, which I think improved the mouth feel of this. So, my advice is to scale way back on the sugar and add it to taste, and you have a winner here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Great recipe! We also add 1 can of black eyed peas and different colored sweet peppers for color (1/2 of 3 works well). Serve with multi grain scoops it is so amazing and always gets rave reviews wherever we go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I saw and made a recipe almost identical to this a few years ago and it was a hit. Suddenly, today I was reminded of and inspired to make it again. This stuff is SO good, that you can practically just eat it with a spoon! What I really love is that it gets better every day that it sits in the fridge (so I recommend making it at least a day in advance to give all the ingredients a chance to soak up some of that great vinegar flavor. Like many of the other reviewers, I also suggest cutting the amount of sugar in half and using red wine vinegar instead of rice wine vinegar. ...it's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States