Super Summer Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This is out of this world! I cut the sugar in half, used rice vinegar and used sweet yellow canned corn and regular onion - it was delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It doesn't specify - but be sure to drain liquid from beans and corn before dumping into salsa (some people might not know better, just thought I'd share). This could also be a nice side dish as well without chips. It's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
I've brought this to several parties and it's a hit every time! The only change I make is I use 1/2 the amount of sugar the recipe calls for and I find that I have to drain 99% the liquid before serving. Also, try adding avocado but it's good with or without that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Great taste, but a little too much sugar with red wine vinegar. I added fresh basil. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANDYKAIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I followed the instructions exactly with great results. It does make a big batch, so buy plenty of chips! I served the salsa with blue corn chips--yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Fantastic! I had something like this at a party recently and could not stop thinking about it; this is really close to what I had. I also used half the amount of sugar and super-sweet corn. I used a whole red onion, but that's your prerogative. I don't know if there's a difference between "rice wine vinegar" and "rice vinegar", but I used rice vinegar because it was all I had and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I too cut the amount of sugar in half. I found that this was perfect. I also added cilantro for that extra something, and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
If you cut sugar way down, add red wine vinegar instead of rice vinegar, and touch of cumin and cilantro it rates a five !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Good thing this recipe is huge - I sampled it the night before serving & ended up eating half of it! As suggested, used half the sugar and was awesome & a big hit at the party! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
LOVED this. Followed the recipe exactly. Nice change from your typical salsa. Make sure you use rice wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Super Summer Salsa Haiku: "First day taste OK. Second day, salsa heaven! Just a few changes." So, without a doubt, I was floored at how much better this tasted the 2nd day, after it had had ample opportunity to fridge flavor-mesh. I didn't have rice wine vinegar (used red wine vinegar) and although I was skeptical at following another reviewer's suggestion of fresh basil (I would typically use cilantro w/ black beans), I was amazed at how wonderful the basil complimented the vinegar. Oh and I had to use green bell instead of red. Small changes aside, this was out of control rad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States