Super Summer Kale Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This recipe makes Kale taste good! Even better than a similar salad found in our super market deli. Recipe holds well, so it will last a couple days in the fridge and will still be wonderful to eat. Made recipe as shown and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I'm getting ready to make this for the 3rd time this summer. Excellent salad recipe, although I did cut the sugar down to 1/3 cup. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I just made this a few days ago and thought it was perfect. I did not add the edamame only because I did not have it at home. Next time I make it I will add a little less sugar- just a tad on the sweet side. Great side dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
For a lower carb count and slightly healthier version, I used 1/4 cup agave in place of the sugar. For simpler preparation, I used baby kale because it doesn't require chopping (I also think it is easier to eat and doesn't need to sit with the dressing as long). I used sliced almonds in place of cashews. And I left out the edamame and raw onion. A few hours ahead, I mixed together the dressing, kale, carrots, and dried cranberries. Just before serving, I tossed in the almonds, blueberries, and sunflower seeds. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Wow! I bought 2 bunches of kale at the farmer's market because it's good for you, but wasn't sure how to make it appetizing without cooking. This recipe is such a keeper; even my husband liked it. And it's so versatile. I didn't have edamame, red onion, carrot, dried cranberries, cashew pieces or sunflower seeds. So the salad ingredients I used were purple kale, sweet Walla Walla onion, blueberries, dried tart cherries and chopped pecans. I made the dressing per the recipe and had extra to make this again, which will be today since we have another bunch of kale. Thanks, Susan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This was so good! My husband and I fought over the last bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is sooooooo good! I make it the night before if I can, but don't add the seeds and nuts. I am always asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Lovely salad but I only used 1 Tbsp of sugar. I can't imagine using 3/4 cup of sugar and not sure how that much would even dissolve. I also used mixed greens because I didn't have kale and it worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Very good. Made with 1/2 the sugar and freeze dried blueberries. Who knew Kale could taste so good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This is a winner. Went over well at a party. Great the next day too. Cut the sugar to 1/4 cup. 3/4 cup is just not necessary for a great taste. I used apple cider vinegar. You do need to make it ahead or the kale will not be soft enough. I used walnuts instead of cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States