Super Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I grew up eating cookies similar to this, we called them "Aunt Edna's Sugar Cookies". Her recipe was slightly different, it calls for shortening rather than butter and uses confectioner's sugar for all of the sugar, not half granulated. When made this way, you get a cookie so airy and crisp it literally melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
Disappointing. I halved the recipe, maybe that was the beginning of my problems. The dough was so dry, it could barely be rolled out. There are much better recipes than this. Will not make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I have been looking for this recipe. I use shortening insead of oil. If one would use an ice cream scoop to drop the cookies on to the sheet and a flat glass to flatten them (which has been dipped into a sugar and cinnamon mixture)the process is easier than rolling. These cookies just barely have time to cool and become crisp before they are gone. There have been times that I have had to put the dough in the frig on warm day or when the kitchen is hot between baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
This is the only sugar cookie my daughter wants to make. They are so good! We frost them with a powdered sugar & water glaze, and decorate them for school parties with colored sugar to match the holiday. This is a terrific, easy recipe. Note though that the ingredients are not listed in the order they are used, so read the directions carefully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I made one small change - I swapped out the vegetable oil and used coconut oil. Wow, they were fantastic!!! They tasted buttery, crispy, but with a little tropical twist. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Wylie, I am 8 years old. I baked the cookies by myself! They were so good! My mom, dad and my little brother loved them, too! They thanked me for thinking of sugar cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoffeeWench
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I halved the recipe and they came out AWESOME. I've been looking for sometime for a recipe that would mimic those Pillsbury sugar cookies with the holiday pictures in the middle...those are SO good, never could find a recipe that came close. This one is about as close as I need to get! Delicious! I substituted Sweetex shortening for the oil and people thought I had bought them commercially, they didn't believe I made them! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoffeeWench

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
Thank you so much for posting this recipe. My mom had a recipe in her recipe box that I used for years. After I moved away, the recipe was lost. One day I came across this site and decided to see if I could find a recipe that matched the one I remembered. If you do a search on sugar cookies, 119 come up and yours is on the last page. It was the only one that was even close. The cookies are great! Thanks again, Tami.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is the best sugar cookie I've ever had, let alone made from scratch. They remind me of the cookies I had from a bakery in my childhood. I love a good sprinkle sugar cookie (non pareils), so I dipped the rounded balls of dough in regular granulated sugar on one side and the other side, I dipped into the sprinkles. Then I flattened out with the bottom of a glass. They were so good!! I will be making this recipe for years to come. Tonya
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
If your looking for that cookie that will set off your Holiday cookie plate, look no further! These cookies were so easy, and the directions were simple. The hardest part was waiting 3 hours for the dough to chill. Ignore the single star rating's those people probably can't boil water. This recipe is a keeper if your into quick and easy but not compromising taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States