Super Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This recipe was easy to make, and took no time at all once I got going. Some of my cookies were crumbly, and they smelled like they were burning only 5 minutes after cooking. I put mine in the oven for only 9 minutes and they were done. However, I think it's fair to mention that I have a gas oven and cooking times did vary between 8-10 minutes per batch. Other than that, these cookies were pretty good tasting, and they will be even better once I get the frosting on them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I always say I love to cook and hate to bake, but I needed sugar cookies for the start of a new school year and found this recipe. Very easy to make and they turned out great. Hints: make sure you do put the dough in the fridge and definitely press the cookies down if you like flatter results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Wow!! Amazing raw sugar cookie dough, which is a great start. I subbed shortening for the oil and left out cream of tarter (another reviewer said you can't tell). I also didn't spend refrigerator time. Just use a large spoon to make "balls" and roll in sugar. Press the glob with a glass. Perfect. Delicious. Keeper recipe. --- anyone who rates this less than 4 has a serious baking issue (can't measure, mixed flour for sugar?, no telling)......powdered sugar + milk = perfect icing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shauna85

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This is the same recipe passed down for many years with my ex-mother-in-laws side of the family. It is the only sugar cookie recipe we make in my family.IF you use 1 cup of shortening instead of oil them do make the best rolled sugar cookies. I even use the butter flavored shortening sometimes. Also don't roll too thin or they will not come out soft when you bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Love these cookies have made them over and over again. I make a chocolate variation that is my absolute favorite cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fall City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Spectacular!! My first attempt at sugar cookies, ever...and they turned out just perfect. I even forgot the salt! oops....but they turned out wonderfully. They really do need to be dipped in the sugar, to make them sweeter. I added some sugar cookie frosting on these and they were absolutely delectable. I wish the directions were a little clearer, but other than that, perfect recipe. These cookies were gone FAST. Not sure why there are any negative ratings on this one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiphane Kostakis Moore
Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
These are amazing and so very delicious. I have made these 3 times in the past 3 weeks. Does anyone know if you can freeze the dough or if the cookies can be frozen after they have been baked? I did use Crisco shortening instead of the vegetable oil. Thank you for sharing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
YUM! Followed the recipe exactly and they came out amazing. The person with the dry comment clearly made a mistake. I used a cookie scoop to place the balls on the baking tray, then flattened them with the bottom of a cup dipped in sugar. They are superb on their own, as well as with icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
these cookies came out he best i use to use a diffrent recipie but when i used this one it came our better then the other ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyturtle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Made recipe w/ intent to roll out dough rather shape into balls. Cutting w/ 3-inch 5-point star, 1/4-1/2 inch thick, I made about 80 cookies. Dough was somewhat sticky (expected it to with all the butter/oil in it), but easy to work with. Woody’s Sheriff Badge cookies (decorated from family.com) were gobbled by the children at the birthday party. Made extras to keep at home, freezing for future use. Next time will try applesauce in place of butter and use almond or rootbeer flavoring instead of vanilla. Thanks, Robin, for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The King's kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States