Super Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
Thank you so much for posting this recipe. My mom had a recipe in her recipe box that I used for years. After I moved away, the recipe was lost. One day I came across this site and decided to see if I could find a recipe that matched the one I remembered. If you do a search on sugar cookies, 119 come up and yours is on the last page. It was the only one that was even close. The cookies are great! Thanks again, Tami.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
This is the only sugar cookie my daughter wants to make. They are so good! We frost them with a powdered sugar & water glaze, and decorate them for school parties with colored sugar to match the holiday. This is a terrific, easy recipe. Note though that the ingredients are not listed in the order they are used, so read the directions carefully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
Disappointing. I halved the recipe, maybe that was the beginning of my problems. The dough was so dry, it could barely be rolled out. There are much better recipes than this. Will not make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
everyone in my family loved them, we made them for mother day.Yes they need sugar or sprinkles on them but they were very good everyone wanted more.The dough is very stiky though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
My mother in law passed this recipe down to me. It is the Best!! The cookies are so nice and short. She added an additional 4 teaspoons of flour to the 4 cups asked for. Now I wonder if I really need those extra 4 tsps.?? ;) This recipe make a really nice Big Batch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I grew up eating cookies similar to this, we called them "Aunt Edna's Sugar Cookies". Her recipe was slightly different, it calls for shortening rather than butter and uses confectioner's sugar for all of the sugar, not half granulated. When made this way, you get a cookie so airy and crisp it literally melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
These are fabulous sugar cookies! Light and butter with a lovely texture. I am ashamed to say I didn't get the "108 servings" the recipe said it would yeild. I made the cookies much bigger and am going to make some vanilla/candy cane ice cream to make ice cream sandwiches with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I made these for halloween, but when i was balling them to dip into the sprinkles i noticed they were very oily. I have worked with sugar cookies less oily than these but they were still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkiisblessed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Wylie, I am 8 years old. I baked the cookies by myself! They were so good! My mom, dad and my little brother loved them, too! They thanked me for thinking of sugar cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I have been looking for this recipe. I use shortening insead of oil. If one would use an ice cream scoop to drop the cookies on to the sheet and a flat glass to flatten them (which has been dipped into a sugar and cinnamon mixture)the process is easier than rolling. These cookies just barely have time to cool and become crisp before they are gone. There have been times that I have had to put the dough in the frig on warm day or when the kitchen is hot between baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States