Super Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I made the dough for this two nights ago and started to bake yesterday morning, after leaving it sit overnight in the fridge. At first, I split the recipe down to 5 dozen because I didn't need (or want) 8-9 dozen cookies. After making the dough, it was such a little amount that I wasn't going to get 60 cookies unless they were the size of quarters. So I made more dough following the 5 dozen amounts. The only changes I made were substituting white vinegar for the cream of tarter because I didn't have any and when I made the 2nd batch, I mixed in 2 packets of vanilla flavored sugar. Oh and I used homemade vanilla extract. I mixed both doughs together. The dough tasted good so I was happy. When it was time to bake, I rolled them into balls. I started to flatten them with a glass but they kept sticking so I just rolled them into balls 29th n flattened in my hand.I had to bake them longer than 12 minutes; it was about 15-17. They were so awesomely delicious! They tasted like a cross between sugar cookies and butter cookies. I'm not a big sugar cookie fan but I couldn't stop eating them! When I took them to the meeting I made them for, EVERYONE loved them...they ate them all! This will be my go-to recipe for sugar cookies. I think I'll add a few more packets of vanilla sugar next time too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
They were so moist and delicious! My mom took one bite and said this was the same recipe her mom used and asked me to print it for her. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Delicious! Crispy yet chewy -- just the way a sugar cookie should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Oh my god! This recipe is absolutely wonderful! Everyone enjoyed them and gave me compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Super yummy cookies. The reason for only 4 stars is because they are incredibly delicate. If you're looking to pack these as a gift or even ship them they will not servive. I brought some to work and they didnt even make the 5 mile trip. They were crumbles of yummyness when I opened up the tupperware.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldielocs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plover, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
These turned out great! They are not super sweet, went great with coffee! I did decorate half of them and they were awesome! I cut the recipe in half also and it turned out fine. I even had to leave the dough in the fridge overnight and it wasnt a problem. I tasted the dough before I baked it and it tasted kind of salty so it had me worried, but once they were baked we did not taste the salt. I think these may be the best sugar cookies ive ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this recipe, but I used 1/2 cup of oil, and I used 2 tsp of vanilla. I made the batter the night before christmas, and refrigerated the batter overnight. I rolled out the dough the next afternoon, and it was so easy to work with. I used this recipe for christmas cookies. I cut them out, baked them 350* for 8 min, and they were perfect. I frosted and decorated them and served them to family on christmas day. My family loved them and they took some home with them, and the rest were gone by bedtime. I was weary about this recipe because of some of the reviews, but I am so glad I used it, and will use it again next year. We love that these cookies were soft and not hard and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is very much like my mother's recipe, only instead of vegetable oil, she used buttery oil. I guess this was something you could find in the supermarked in the 70's. I have found that buttery oil popcorn topping works really well and tastes better, but I don't put as much in. I use about 1/4 cup of this along with 1 3/4 cups of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I tried this with all regualar sugar it was so oily and gross. Do Not Do This. After adding more flour I think it worked out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I searched and searched for a great sugar cookie recipe, and I've found it! These sugar cookies turned out beautiful! I was a bit nervous about adding 1 cup of oil so I used 1/2 a cup of olive oil and wow they still turned out amazing! I bet they would still have been perfect if I did the full cup. I will definately make these cookies again and again. It comes at such a perfect time of the year that I found this cuz today was my pre Christmas baking day. I can't wait to make these in a few weeks. I would love to make shapes and decorate them with icing next time to add some fun for my 2 year old daughter :) Thank you a zillion times over. P.S the people that said they were are dead wrong, they probably don't know how to bake lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashamatash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States