Super Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Fantastic! I didn't have some of the ingredients on hand so I used what I had and it STILL turned out awesome. My 5 year old had 2 servings and my wife said it was one of the best side dishes I had made in a long time - and I do all the cooking in our house. I used Miracle Whip in place of the Mayo, and subbed a packet of dry Onion Soup mix in place of the ranch mix. This is now in the recipe box and has become a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefHouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Paris, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Outstanding, and the rave reviews are a testament to that. A couple minor alterations: 16 reduced fat Ritz crackers replacing 12 saltine crackers and used herb seasoned stuffing. Nicely filled a 9” x 13” (3 qt.) baking dish (lightly sprayed w/ olive oil). Lightly sprayed saucepan w/ olive oil rather than using butter when cooking the squash and onions. In further reducing the overall 10 tablespoons of butter in this casserole, only used 3 tablespoons to make the stuffing crust . . . don’t think a noticeable taste difference resulted. Used a pinch of salt to cut down on high sodium level for a relatively small sized serving (i.e., roughly 3” x 4” size). For special occasions, I would make this recipe the same way again. If part of an everyday meal, the aim would be to make a healthier version . . . experiment w/ using 2/3 cup light ranch dressing & 1/3 cup mayo rather than 1 cup mayo. This is one of the most delicious vegetable casseroles we’ve found on this site. Thanks, NANCD35.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
We host several families per week on a regular basis and this recipe is always a huge hit. I have had to make photocopies of this recipe because everyone is leaving with a copy of it! Here are my adaptations: I use 2 TBSP of coconut oil instead of the butter to fry the squash & onion and does it ever add a nice flavour! Instead of saltine crackers, I use 1 cup of coarsely crushed gluten-free corn flakes. I use 1/4 cup of ranch dressing vs the ranch seasoning package. I also mix the butter/stuffing mixture right in for a much better blending of flavours and textures. A family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Good with something on the side like meat, its not good by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HECTOR VARGAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Used ranch bottle instead of packet and then no mayo. But used way less than 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
ONe of the reviews stated this was dry and blah. Nothing could be further from the truth. This is a delicious moist and yummy casserole. ONe tip is to put a lid on your pan when you are cooking the squash and onions together. This keeps the moisture in the pan. Just be careful not to leave too much juice as your casserole can be runny. I would cook the first half with a lid on and then remove the lid so some of the liquid evaporates into the air. Then add your cheese, etc. If for some reason it may seem to runny after you have added cheese and other ingredients a few extra crackers will help. ( I used ritz crackers) Also baking with or without a cover makes a difference in the crunchiness of your topping and the dryness of your casserole. I actually added a little bit of water to my stuffing along with the butter to make it a tiny bit moist. Don't add too much though, just a tablespoon or so. Anyhow, I encourage you to make it, and pay attention to these things, then the 2nd time you make it will be perfect. The flavor is always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I have made this for Thanksgiving & Christmas for the past 2 years. It is very popular & I am getting ready to put it in the oven in a few minutes. I think it looks more amazing today than previously - so I know it will be great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
My husband wanted a squash recipe like his mother made. This recipe matched his expectations. It was tasty and easy to make. Even the little one ate it and asked for seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Witmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Great dish! Not exactly low-cal, but definitely good! I used crushed Ritz crackers instead of saltines. I also didn't have any stuffing mix, so I used crushed Corn Flakes. I will definitely make again and try the stuffing mix! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
By far the Best Casserole we ever had! I made sure to add more onion (3) and heavy on the cheddar cheese and mayo. Try it you will love It!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delhi, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States