Super Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is a great 'comfort food' recipe, as others have said. This isn't a dish I would call healthy, though. Sad to have that much beautiful, healthy squash drowned out by so much fat and calorie laden goodness. Just a normal portion made me feel worse after the meal than a typical veggie dish. Use with caution. It is definitely tasty, just not healthy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Love this recipe. I did make a few changes and substituted here and there. Instead of mayo I used vegenaise and instead of ranch I used a dried buttermilk ranch mix. I only used 1 egg, instead of the 3 listed. I also mixed all the ingredients after cooking the squash and onions and then topped the whole mixture with the melted butter and finally the mix. I am getting ready to make this again, love this recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
i can't really say i was impressed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Followed directions...and added ham. Best thing ever! Great recipe...a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Shane Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I have made the recipe twice now and plan to use at Thanksgiving. I was even asked for the recipe...huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Very similar to a recipe my mom used to make......but dare I say it - even better! Fall comfort in a dish! Thanks to our over zealous garden I used zucchini and yellow squash. Mixed white sharp cheddar, parmesan and cheddar for the cheese; used 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 mayo; added chopped chicken and omitted the salt (thank goodness! or it would have been far too salty). I used herb stuffing for top; next time I think I would a third less of the ranch mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Cooking for vegetarian so skipped the stuffing and use ground crackers and palenko bread crumbs, also substituted zucchini for the yellow squash. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I've done a variation of this recipe. No mayo. I used crushed up corn tortilla chips instead of crackers. Used dried herbs, probably the Italian blend I bought at the Amish store. I didn't use stuffing mix. Probably used about double the cheddar cheese. It's especially good with the sharpest cheddar you can find OR baby swiss :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Indiana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This is great. I lightened it a bit by using a little olive oil to cook the veggies, light mayonnaise, 2 eggs and only 4 tablespoons of butter in the stuffing mix. It was still rich with nice texture and I definitely recommend these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I cut recipe in half and it made more than enough for a family of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States