Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
5 stars for easy, 5 stars from the pups, they love these! I doubled the recipe because my cutters are pretty large, I was able to get 28 pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Jake, my four legged child, absolutely loves these! He has many food allergies and is incredibly picky, but he cannot get enough of these treats. Just as the name implies..."Super Simple"!! Thanks for this recipe! Greatly appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anneliese
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Super easy to make, inexpesive ingredients and my super picky princess pooch LOVED them! Will definitely be using the rest of the sweet potato to make another batch tomorrow! Thanks for the awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I was looking for a way to use up my sweet potato casserole from Thanksgiving and found this. I didn't have any apple sauce on hand, so I just added extra casserole. I'm way too lazy to roll out dough and cut out shapes, so I just used a large melon baller and then flattened them out with a fork like you would for peanut butter cookies, I was able to get 42 treats doing it this way. Going to put some in a jar and freeze the rest for later. My dog just ate one and loved it. Thanks for the recipe, so easy and will now be added to the "what to do with Thanksgiving leftovers" recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glenwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
If your treats become moldy after a few days they are probably not dried out enough. Try turning off the oven after baking and leave them in until they are cooled. This will help remove moisture and make them crunchy. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I have a Terrier mix and baked the Dog treats about a week ago according to the recipe. She loved them. I stored them in her Cookie jar on the counter. This was a big mistake. They are all moldy about a week later and I had to throw them away. My advice is that you either have to refrigerate or freeze some of them . But the recipe is very good and easy. Tomorrow I will bake some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
These were a hit with my little fusspot. Wanting to wean her off those dried jerky chicken strips made in China, I decided to try making my own treats. I'm not a baker but these were pretty simple to make. I left them in the oven a bit too long, but that's my oven. Have to shorten the baking time. One hint I will pass along is to make sure you flour the surface well before you roll out the dough - the dough tends to be on the sticky side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leanne Hall
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Our four dogs loved these and I have two picky dogs..easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
5 stars for easy, 4 stars from my standard poodle. These were so easy i made two more batches with the following additions: I added 1 teaspoon of honey and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1 teaspoon of ginger! they filled the kitchen with a really nice smell!! my poodle was waiting for them to be done!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Super easy, and very flexible. I didn't really measure anything, and baked them for about 15 minutes, so they were still a bit soft. That being said, I have a very well behaved dog who never gets himself into anything he's not supposed to. He actually climbed on the counter and are a whole in the bag I had these in and are them all! Bad dog! But he has a sensitive stomach and didn't get sick either. So they must be AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

All about Sweet Potatoes

Learn all about these sweet-tasting, vitamin-rich root veggies.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States