Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
5 stars for easy, 5 stars from the pups, they love these! I doubled the recipe because my cutters are pretty large, I was able to get 28 pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Super easy to make, inexpesive ingredients and my super picky princess pooch LOVED them! Will definitely be using the rest of the sweet potato to make another batch tomorrow! Thanks for the awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Jake, my four legged child, absolutely loves these! He has many food allergies and is incredibly picky, but he cannot get enough of these treats. Just as the name implies..."Super Simple"!! Thanks for this recipe! Greatly appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anneliese
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I was looking for a way to use up my sweet potato casserole from Thanksgiving and found this. I didn't have any apple sauce on hand, so I just added extra casserole. I'm way too lazy to roll out dough and cut out shapes, so I just used a large melon baller and then flattened them out with a fork like you would for peanut butter cookies, I was able to get 42 treats doing it this way. Going to put some in a jar and freeze the rest for later. My dog just ate one and loved it. Thanks for the recipe, so easy and will now be added to the "what to do with Thanksgiving leftovers" recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glenwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
These were a hit with my little fusspot. Wanting to wean her off those dried jerky chicken strips made in China, I decided to try making my own treats. I'm not a baker but these were pretty simple to make. I left them in the oven a bit too long, but that's my oven. Have to shorten the baking time. One hint I will pass along is to make sure you flour the surface well before you roll out the dough - the dough tends to be on the sticky side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leanne Hall
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Our four dogs loved these and I have two picky dogs..easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I have a Terrier mix and baked the Dog treats about a week ago according to the recipe. She loved them. I stored them in her Cookie jar on the counter. This was a big mistake. They are all moldy about a week later and I had to throw them away. My advice is that you either have to refrigerate or freeze some of them . But the recipe is very good and easy. Tomorrow I will bake some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Doubled the recipe to give in goodie bags for Christmas to our 4 legged friends. My Rosie loves them! super easy. Keep them in the freezer and just take a few out at a time. They will go moldy if you leave them in a jar too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I recently made a review, on these cookies, my dogs didn't care for these, will go back to the penutbutter ones, they like them, just wanted to try something different for them,thanks anyway for the recipe, always like to try something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Arcanum, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
My dog loves these. I don't know if this will apply to anyone else but my dog LOVES gingerbread cookies (he doesn't get them but does steal them sometimes) so i add ginger, cinnamon, cloves and a bit of molasses to these. He goes nuts for them. but this is a fantastic recipe as is or as a base recipe to add to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

All about Sweet Potatoes

Learn all about these sweet-tasting, vitamin-rich root veggies.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States