Super-Simple, Super-Spicy Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This was really good! I used a flat iron steak, which is always so tender. Instead of slicing the beef first, I marinated it, and then my husband grilled it. Then I cut it up and sauteed it with the green onions and some of the marinade. We served it with whole grain brown rice --it was really good! Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Very good. I used sirloin steak (what I had on hand) cut down the red pepper flakes to 1 t (personal preference) & didn't use the green onions (didn't have any). I served with fried rice & Chinese vegetables. For us this recipe makes only 2 servings, we eat 1/2 lb meat per person. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This was awesome. I marinated the meat for 24 hours. Instead of red pepper flakes I used 1 Tbl of Mongolian Fire Oil, which added a hint of fire but nothing you need a drink close by for. I also cooked half a white onion, half a red onion, 1/2 a cup of left over red bell pepper and some julienned carrots. Cooked the Onions and Peppers separately in a Tbl. Sesame oil and a Tbl. of Mongolian Fire oil (found in the Asian section of your local grocery) and a Tsp of minced garlic. I used sirloin instead cutting into thin strips. Mixed the Veggies back in at the end and then served it over Oven Brown Rice (found on this side). I have an excellent local Mongolian restaurant we love, sad to say I can now make it better, cheaper, and faster at home. This dish is defiantly going into the dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
My son and husband say that this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
excelent- thanks for easy and wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This dish is fantastic!!!! I added frozen Chinese vegetables and served it over whole wheat angel hair pasta. Hubby and I practically licked our plates clean. (FYI--I only added a teaspoon of the red pepper flakes as others had suggested. I'd try it this way first, and if you like it hotter, add more the next time you make it. We like things hot, and this was perfect.) Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This really is very easy and good. Only used 1 tsp. of red pepper flakes and that was plenty! I always add extra veggies and serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Marinade was perfect with just a teaspoon of the pepper flakes. Best Asian dish we've made at home yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
wow! this is the BEST! made as is and marinated for about 3 hours. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dev

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This is an excellent and easy recipe! My husband said it was the best stir fry I've made yet. I decreased the crushed red pepper to 1 teaspoon and it was still plenty hot. I also added extra veggies just because we like them - extra onion, zucchini, and carrot. Served over fluffy steamed white rice, you can't go wrong! Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States