Super-Simple, Super-Spicy Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Absolutely delicious! So flavorful! I have had a hard time finding chinese food recipes that I like, and this is probably the best I've tried. Only change was that I used 1 tsp. instead of 1 TBS of red pepper flakes... and it still had quite a bit of heat!! Even hubby said there were some hot bites. I cut some carrots from our garden into matchsticks and stir-fried those into the dish as well. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Very good flavor.I did add sliced mushrooms,carrot,and broccoli.This was also the first time I have cooked with flank steak and the meat turned out very tender.Will be making this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Marinade for the beef is super yummy. A number of different veggies can be added to this dish, which makes it very versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This was very good. I marinated the meat for 24 hours. I used 1 tsp of red pepper instead of 1 Tablespoon, which was perfect for the whole family. I also cooked up some matchstick carrots like another reviewer suggested. I did not use flank steak, I used sirloin instead. When cut thin, it does not need to cook long and remains quite tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
excelent- thanks for easy and wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This dish is fantastic!!!! I added frozen Chinese vegetables and served it over whole wheat angel hair pasta. Hubby and I practically licked our plates clean. (FYI--I only added a teaspoon of the red pepper flakes as others had suggested. I'd try it this way first, and if you like it hotter, add more the next time you make it. We like things hot, and this was perfect.) Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Very good. I used sirloin steak (what I had on hand) cut down the red pepper flakes to 1 t (personal preference) & didn't use the green onions (didn't have any). I served with fried rice & Chinese vegetables. For us this recipe makes only 2 servings, we eat 1/2 lb meat per person. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This really is very easy and good. Only used 1 tsp. of red pepper flakes and that was plenty! I always add extra veggies and serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
My son and husband say that this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This was really good! I used a flat iron steak, which is always so tender. Instead of slicing the beef first, I marinated it, and then my husband grilled it. Then I cut it up and sauteed it with the green onions and some of the marinade. We served it with whole grain brown rice --it was really good! Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States