Super-Simple, Super-Spicy Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by mandiescool
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This was just delicious. I couldn't find hoisin sauce, but I found a recipe for how to make it. After making that, I didn't have much hope for it tasting very good because the hoisin sauce just didn't smell good at all. But it turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly as it is, except I used a different cut of steak. It was extremely spicy, so if you are not a fan of spicy food, I would cut back on the red pepper. I had no complaints from my boyfriend who is usually a picky eater. He even asked to have the leftovers for lunch the next day! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This is fantastic! I only used 1 tsp. red pepper flake, since little ones were eating it. (I wouldn't have minded more, but I love heat.) I also doubled the sauce. I used half to marinate the meat for 4 hours and added the other half at the end of cooking to warm through. I served it over rice with veggies. A huge hit; I wish I had leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crockpot queen
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I followed the recipe verbatim, and all you could taste was the Hoisin sauce. You might be a fan of Hoisin sauce, but I find it very strong, and in this case too overpowering. I did not like the flavor of this sauce at all. Wasn't even close to spicy, and also wasn't sweet even considering the sugar added. There are better recipe's on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
We tried this several times, first by following the recipes exactly as written and then again with a couple of tweaks. Both times it tasted more like peppersteak instead of mongolian beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Hello, this truly is super easy and super yummy!! We love spice, but just incase, I took the advise of the other reviewers and decreased the pepper flakes to about a tsp. Next time, I will add a bit more. I also didn't have green onions, so I sauteed some red bell peppers & some water chestnuts. I didn't have peanut oil either, so I just used olive oil. Wow, thanks for this recipe and for giving me the confidence to cook with steak! I can't wait to make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Darnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I was looking for a recipe that tastes like the Mongolian Beef at the restaurants near me. This recipe is definitely not it. This recipe is good, but not great. I added a 5 green onions, a 1/2 onion sliced, a teaspoon of ginger, and only 1/2 tablespoon red pepper flakes. Even with the additions, the flavor was still lacking. Aside from being spicy, this dish doesn't really have much going for it. My search continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
VERY GOOD!! My husband says it is a keeper!! The only thing I did differently was I cut the red pepper flakes back and only used 1 TEASPOON as we were having a side dish that had a lot of spice in it. Thanks for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I was not a fan of this, the sesame oil was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I used 1 tbsp. chili garlic paste in place of the minced garlic and cut back the red pepper flakes to 1/2 tsp. Sprinkled on some toasted sesame seeds right at the end and served with white rice. It was way better than take out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I have this saved and have been making it exactly as-is for a couple years now, with just slightly less red pepper flakes than it calls for. It's my picky step-daughter's favorite and she always requests it! Even my 5 year old loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States