Super-Simple, Super-Spicy Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
The sauce for this was REALLY tasty. For me, it falls shy of a 5-star recipe just because in my opinion, Mongolian Beef should have WAY more green onions. We used about a dozen, and I still would be tempted to use more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellybeth
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe that I make often. I prepare everything about 6 hours before cooking and let it marinate. I also add broccoli, water chestnuts and a little extra garlic. I cook the broccoli in a hot wok with a little peanut oil just until bright green. I remove the broccoli and put it in a bowl off to the side. Then I cook the meat with the marinade until well done. It seems to tenderize the meat better. I add the broccoli back to the wok after the meat is done and then toss in some sliced water chestnuts and the green onion right at the end. Then just heat through and serve over rice. The veggies will be crisp and the meat is so tender. My family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This is a great recipe for during the week! Easy and super flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Delicious! Name fits perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Amazing!! Cooked on high in a crock pot for two hours, then drained sauce into sauce pan with a tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken up. Thru in meet and half an onion for a few minutes. Perfection!!!! And So EASY!!!! Voted best dinner of the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
It is very easy to prepare and yet tastes great! It was a little on the salty side for me, but it could just be personal preference. Great weeknight dinner and a tasty one too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This was a great recipe. I served it over jasmine rice with pork tenderloin pieces. I love spicy, but was a lil strong..next time less red pepper. cant wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This recipe was so easy and tasted just like the Mongolian Beef from our favorite Chinese carry out! I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandiescool
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This was just delicious. I couldn't find hoisin sauce, but I found a recipe for how to make it. After making that, I didn't have much hope for it tasting very good because the hoisin sauce just didn't smell good at all. But it turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly as it is, except I used a different cut of steak. It was extremely spicy, so if you are not a fan of spicy food, I would cut back on the red pepper. I had no complaints from my boyfriend who is usually a picky eater. He even asked to have the leftovers for lunch the next day! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This is fantastic! I only used 1 tsp. red pepper flake, since little ones were eating it. (I wouldn't have minded more, but I love heat.) I also doubled the sauce. I used half to marinate the meat for 4 hours and added the other half at the end of cooking to warm through. I served it over rice with veggies. A huge hit; I wish I had leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crockpot queen

Displaying results 61-70 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States