Super-Simple, Super-Spicy Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
We tried this several times, first by following the recipes exactly as written and then again with a couple of tweaks. Both times it tasted more like peppersteak instead of mongolian beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Hello, this truly is super easy and super yummy!! We love spice, but just incase, I took the advise of the other reviewers and decreased the pepper flakes to about a tsp. Next time, I will add a bit more. I also didn't have green onions, so I sauteed some red bell peppers & some water chestnuts. I didn't have peanut oil either, so I just used olive oil. Wow, thanks for this recipe and for giving me the confidence to cook with steak! I can't wait to make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Darnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I was looking for a recipe that tastes like the Mongolian Beef at the restaurants near me. This recipe is definitely not it. This recipe is good, but not great. I added a 5 green onions, a 1/2 onion sliced, a teaspoon of ginger, and only 1/2 tablespoon red pepper flakes. Even with the additions, the flavor was still lacking. Aside from being spicy, this dish doesn't really have much going for it. My search continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
VERY GOOD!! My husband says it is a keeper!! The only thing I did differently was I cut the red pepper flakes back and only used 1 TEASPOON as we were having a side dish that had a lot of spice in it. Thanks for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I was not a fan of this, the sesame oil was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I used 1 tbsp. chili garlic paste in place of the minced garlic and cut back the red pepper flakes to 1/2 tsp. Sprinkled on some toasted sesame seeds right at the end and served with white rice. It was way better than take out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I have this saved and have been making it exactly as-is for a couple years now, with just slightly less red pepper flakes than it calls for. It's my picky step-daughter's favorite and she always requests it! Even my 5 year old loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
We really like this. I make it milder than written because we have 2 toddlers. I add lots of thinly sliced red onions and carrots to make it more like our favorite restaurant dish. I also make a little extra sauce so there is plenty for all those veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
So easy and soooo good! I recommend putting red pepper flakes on afterwards, my husband loved how spicy it was but a bit too spicy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Added minced ginger, sake and julienned carrots. I substituted sesame oil for the peanut oil, splenda for the sugar, and a red thai chile (minus the seeds) for the chili flakes. Absolutely delicious, and will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States