Super-Simple, Super-Spicy Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Good flavor. I only used a tiny pinch of red pepper flakes, because my kids are not fans of anything spicy. It still had a little heat, but everyone liked it. It was a bit salty for my taste, so next time I'll use low-sodium soy sauce, or cut some of the hoisin sauce, although the hoisin sauce gives it a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Followed recipe as is and it was very tasty. My family loved it! Thank you so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
DELICIOUS! I marinaded the steak (I used Sirloin) for 30 hours and it was perfect! I served it with the green onion ontop of jasmine rice, along with a side salad....Will DEFINITELY be making this again, especially to impress when having people over for dinner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This turned out great! I also used sirloin instead of flank steak and I didnt use the red pepper flakes, but plan on using them next time. I used low sodium soy sauce too. I marinated the meat overnight in a plastic container shaking it up every so often. I cooked the meat for probably about 2.5 minutes on high heat stirring constantly and added steamed stir fry veggies at the end. Husband loved it, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Huge hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Used full amount of crushed red pepper, as we like heat. Tossed the beef with broccoli and water chestnuts. Served rice and edamame on the side. Will definitely put this meal into our rotation. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Great recipe. one thing we added was two table spoons of corn starch before mixing the meat and sauce. This way the sauce thickens and stays coated on the meat when cooked. It also helps crisp up the meat, Brown it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I've tried a few other Mongolian Beef recipes, but this is the best one so far! I used sirloin steak and reduced the garlic and definitely decreased the red pepper. I only used 1/2 tsp and it was perfect. This was so good and even got the approval of my wife! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Great way to use up flank steak - we froze it for 15-20 minutes to make it easier to slice. Didn't have time to marinade this but threw it into the slow cooker for 4 hours on low. Doubled the sauce (had a bigger flank steak) and use 1 tsp instead of a tbsp for crushed red pepper, then mixed the sauce after cooking with brown rice, and tossed it together with some quickly stir fried (in peanut and hot sesame oil) snow peas. I think the only thing needed is some stir fried onions for the hubby as well. Also went easy on the sugar - the hoisin was sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This was very good and I will make it often! Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States