Super-Simple, Super-Spicy Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
YUMM... really good stuff! I had to make my own hoisin sauce but it was still really good. Hubby and kids loved it! Definately will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Name says it all. Great weeknight meal. Didn't change a thing other than doubled the amount of marinade and used flat iron steak instead of flank. Broccoli would be good in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This recipe is amazing, and only takes minutes to prepare. I love spicy food, so I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out perfect. One of the best recipes I have found on this site, and will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Awesome! Great flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSAN201

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This was pretty good, though not exactly what my husband was looking for. My kids liked it, and it was certainly tasty. The marinade was very flavorful, and we included the red pepper flakes, which gave it a "very hot" factor. I doubled the marinade recipe to make sure I had enough "sauce" for over the rice, but the sauce needed something to thicken it. Overall, good, but I think I will keep looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Very good recipe. I will definitely make this one again. My butcher didn't have beef flank steak or flat iron steak, so I used sirloin. I used low sodium soy sauce and it turned out just right; I think it would have been a bit too salty for my husband had I used regular soy sauce. I replaced the peanut oil with canola oil because it is what I have on hand and, taking the advice of the other reviewers, I reduced the amount of red pepper flakes by 1/3rd (I used 2 tsp -- a perfect amount if you love spicy but don't want to melt your face off). I cooked the meat with the lid on the pan for most of the time, so there was plenty of juice left in the bottom when I was done. I pulled the cooked meat from the pan, thickened the sauce up a little with some Wonder Flour and then tossed the meat along with some steamed matchstick carrots and broccoli florets to coat and served over white rice. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
After about 3 years on this site, this is the first recipe I've cared enough about to review. Sure, I've had some success with a number of them, but this one is stellar! My only changes: used a little less than 3/4 lb beef, added about 2 cups veggies, then at the end, some corn starch mixed in water to thicken up the sauce. I'm not the biggest fan of spiciness, but the kick in this dish was far from excessive. Those who can't handle the one Tbsp of chili flakes must be REALLY wimpy. Haaa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ironical8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
It was good, but I think I was hoping for a little more flavor. I want to try this again with a better cut of meat because it was super easy and included ingredients I always have on hand. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
It was good but it seemed like it was missing something. Adding salt helped. Going to keep trying to see what works well with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Yumm-o! Made 2 1/2 times the sauce, doubled the meat, and added red peppers and broccoli (gotta have my veggies). Did not double the red pepper flakes. 1 TBS was perfect heat with the amount of sauce I made. Added a little cornstarch towards the end to thicken up the sauce. Served with white rice. This is so good I can't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISKELE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States