Super-Simple, Super-Spicy Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
These recipe is fantastic! And it only took about 20 minutes to make! I didn't realize that you were supposed to marinate the meat, so we skipped that step and didn't notice. We used premium stew meat from hyvee and sliced it really thin. It was plenty tender. I also added in an onion, just for a little more veggie. Then served it over rice. Fantastic recipe, will make again! Would add a teaspoon or so cornstarch to the sauce mix to help it coat the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Great! This was simple & really good! I served with rice & frozen egg rolls for a quick weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peabozzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Amazing!!! It was such a quick and easy meal to make! My husband loved it!! I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
We thought this was really good. I wanted it to be a little saucier, so I doubled the marinade and put half in a separate bowl and added a couple tablespoons of cornstarch. I used chuck roast for the meat and marinated for about 4 hours. It was really tender. After cooking the meat over high heat (dumped the meat and marinade all in the pan), I reduced the fire and added snow peas and cooked for several minutes until tender-crisp. I then added the extra "marinade" that I had mixed with the cornstarch and it thicken really nicely. I did reduce the red pepper flakes to about 1 tsp. Was nicely spiced, but of course that all depends on personal taste.. Served with Thai Pad noodles. Hubby said it was better than our local Chinese restaurant. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
My family loves this! Make it often! I've tried to use sirloin steak to economize, however, it will not be as good if you don't use Flank Steak. Also, I always make it the night before to marinate and double the recipe for the sauce. Even though sesame seeds are not in the recipe, they are in the picture so I sprinkle on top. I do 1/2 the red pepper flakes due to the spicy tolerance of my family. We have served over jasmine or brown rice. This is really really good and the house smells great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Delicious Mongolian Beef! My distant ancestors were Mongols, so I should know, right? Right? I had to cut the hot peppers back by half for my Gringo dude, but it still had almost enough heat to please me. With the short ingredient list, I worried that flavor would be lacking, or that it would be one-dimensional. Not so. I used frozen bottom round steak that I shaved extra thin with a Chinese cleaver and marinated for an hour. The meat was as tender as a filet mignon. I'll make extra marinade next time and reserve it for a finishing sauce thickened with cornstarch. Take it from a Mongol, try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Very very tasty! Followed the recipe exactly. Marinated overnight. Next time I'll add in more veggies! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Searoll
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Wonderful along with stir-fried veggies and rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Breton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Wow this was awesome my family loved it!!! I wished i had prepared more. I followed the recipe but added slices of onions towards the end and substituted the peanut oil for red Palm oil and this dish was the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal Antoine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This was very tasty! Hubby ate it all up and asked for more. I let the meat marinate all day, and it cooked up really quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States