Super-Simple, Super-Spicy Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Delicious Mongolian Beef! My distant ancestors were Mongols, so I should know, right? Right? I had to cut the hot peppers back by half for my Gringo dude, but it still had almost enough heat to please me. With the short ingredient list, I worried that flavor would be lacking, or that it would be one-dimensional. Not so. I used frozen bottom round steak that I shaved extra thin with a Chinese cleaver and marinated for an hour. The meat was as tender as a filet mignon. I'll make extra marinade next time and reserve it for a finishing sauce thickened with cornstarch. Take it from a Mongol, try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Very very tasty! Followed the recipe exactly. Marinated overnight. Next time I'll add in more veggies! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Searoll
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Wonderful along with stir-fried veggies and rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Wow this was awesome my family loved it!!! I wished i had prepared more. I followed the recipe but added slices of onions towards the end and substituted the peanut oil for red Palm oil and this dish was the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal Antoine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This was very tasty! Hubby ate it all up and asked for more. I let the meat marinate all day, and it cooked up really quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Great recipe. I have made this numerous times for family and guests. It is easy and delicious and I'm pretty sure I have never even marinated it for an hour, much less 24. Regardless, everybody loves it. I have chopped up broccoli and carrots and stir fried them before the meat. I remove them and then cook the meat. I add in the broccoli mix when serving. I've also been lazy and just stir fried a bag of broccoli slaw. This is a very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StokeyLuke
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Simple & tasty, what more do you want from a recipe? Recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I cut the sugar in half and doubled the garlic and crushed red pepper. I tend to eat my spicy dishes much spicier than any recipe I have found. The base recipe is good. I just spiced to taste. I also sauteed jalapeños and onions to serve on the side with the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Very tasty recipe. I cooked the meat into the marinade in a baking dish in the oven, covered. I served this on white rice, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XxlilaxX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I thought this was good...and nice and easy to make. I used sirloin steak instead of flank, yellow onion instead of green, added carrots, and dramatically cut back on the red pepper flakes. My only complaint is that, like other reviewers have also mentioned, I found this dish a bit too salty. I would make this again, but only with a low sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzo84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redditch, Worcestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States