Super-Simple, Super-Spicy Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This was very easy to make and my family absolutely loved it! I loved it so much I am making it again tomorrow. I made it with rice and veggie stir fry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chelsea
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
We loved this! It was really good. I did make a couple of changes just based on what I had and didn't have - but I want to say that this recipe, as written, is perfection (with the exception of the 1 T of red pepper flakes - 1 teaspoon is PLENTY). I used 3 T dark soy sauce and 1 T light soy sauce, but I don't think it would have been too salty to use all dark soy sauce (for our tastes, anyway). I thinly sliced the white part of the green onions and added it to the marinade. I left out the green parts because my green parts looked awful :( I added some minced fresh ginger. I used about a teaspoon of chili paste and 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes. Finally, I very thinly sliced carrots (into matchsticks) and 1/2 of a white onion. I put 1 T of the marinade in with those veggies, separately from the meat, and cooked them first before adding the meat. I added sesame seeds in the last minute of cooking. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This recipe was amazing! I doubled it and used sirloin steak marinated for a little over 24 hours. I made extra sauce and added red and green bell peppers. It was so full of flavor! Also used chile paste and Szechuan stir fry sauce for more heat and flavor. Better than any Mongolian beef I've had and the bf LOVED it. Will make this easy delicious recipe again super soon! Thanks Ang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Good flavor. I only used a tiny pinch of red pepper flakes, because my kids are not fans of anything spicy. It still had a little heat, but everyone liked it. It was a bit salty for my taste, so next time I'll use low-sodium soy sauce, or cut some of the hoisin sauce, although the hoisin sauce gives it a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Followed recipe as is and it was very tasty. My family loved it! Thank you so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
DELICIOUS! I marinaded the steak (I used Sirloin) for 30 hours and it was perfect! I served it with the green onion ontop of jasmine rice, along with a side salad....Will DEFINITELY be making this again, especially to impress when having people over for dinner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This turned out great! I also used sirloin instead of flank steak and I didnt use the red pepper flakes, but plan on using them next time. I used low sodium soy sauce too. I marinated the meat overnight in a plastic container shaking it up every so often. I cooked the meat for probably about 2.5 minutes on high heat stirring constantly and added steamed stir fry veggies at the end. Husband loved it, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Huge hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Used full amount of crushed red pepper, as we like heat. Tossed the beef with broccoli and water chestnuts. Served rice and edamame on the side. Will definitely put this meal into our rotation. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Great recipe. one thing we added was two table spoons of corn starch before mixing the meat and sauce. This way the sauce thickens and stays coated on the meat when cooked. It also helps crisp up the meat, Brown it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States