Super-Simple, Super-Spicy Mongolian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I cut the sugar in half and doubled the garlic and crushed red pepper. I tend to eat my spicy dishes much spicier than any recipe I have found. The base recipe is good. I just spiced to taste. I also sauteed jalapeños and onions to serve on the side with the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Very tasty recipe. I cooked the meat into the marinade in a baking dish in the oven, covered. I served this on white rice, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XxlilaxX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I thought this was good...and nice and easy to make. I used sirloin steak instead of flank, yellow onion instead of green, added carrots, and dramatically cut back on the red pepper flakes. My only complaint is that, like other reviewers have also mentioned, I found this dish a bit too salty. I would make this again, but only with a low sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzo84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redditch, Worcestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I havent't tried it with marinating it for 24 hours, I only do an hour, but that may be why everyone else says it is either too salty or spicy using the original recipe. I don't plan my meals, I just randomly decide what I will cook before making it, so an hour of marinating works for me, plus it tastes great. I actually make fried rice with it which is a great match, just like the restaurant. I love, love, love this! The first time I made it, it was gone in fifteen min by three consumers including me, I was sad I didn't make more! Ik now, to make it by the batch, in case someone stops by. And as I am typing, my meat is marinating. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I use this as my go to stir fry sauce now. I usually add some ginger to it as well. Goes great with a tofu stir fry and some vegetables instead of the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This was really good and I added chili hot sauce will have this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Great recipe! I add thinly sliced onions and red bell peppers as well. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This was very easy to make and my family absolutely loved it! I loved it so much I am making it again tomorrow. I made it with rice and veggie stir fry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chelsea
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
We loved this! It was really good. I did make a couple of changes just based on what I had and didn't have - but I want to say that this recipe, as written, is perfection (with the exception of the 1 T of red pepper flakes - 1 teaspoon is PLENTY). I used 3 T dark soy sauce and 1 T light soy sauce, but I don't think it would have been too salty to use all dark soy sauce (for our tastes, anyway). I thinly sliced the white part of the green onions and added it to the marinade. I left out the green parts because my green parts looked awful :( I added some minced fresh ginger. I used about a teaspoon of chili paste and 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes. Finally, I very thinly sliced carrots (into matchsticks) and 1/2 of a white onion. I put 1 T of the marinade in with those veggies, separately from the meat, and cooked them first before adding the meat. I added sesame seeds in the last minute of cooking. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This recipe was amazing! I doubled it and used sirloin steak marinated for a little over 24 hours. I made extra sauce and added red and green bell peppers. It was so full of flavor! Also used chile paste and Szechuan stir fry sauce for more heat and flavor. Better than any Mongolian beef I've had and the bf LOVED it. Will make this easy delicious recipe again super soon! Thanks Ang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States