Super Simple Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Nice little biscuits. I made my own self-rising flour (in a one cup measure: 1 1/2 t. baking powder and 1/2 t. salt; then add all purpose flour to cup and level off). I used lite sour cream just to use it up and I did add 1 T. of milk because my dough seemed really dry. As another reviewer mentioned these didn’t brown very well on top, even though I drizzled them with a little melted butter before baking. So, I slipped them under the broiler just for about 30 seconds to give them a little better color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Expect a THICK dough when you make this. This is drop-biscuit consistancy. The flavor of these were good, though VERY crumbly. Like, I would bite into one and it would fall apart. That really was the only downfall for this recipe. When I eat a biscuit, I like to bite into it and not have to pick the pieces off of my plate. I think it could use another flavor besides the sour cream and butter. Next time, I'd like to add some garlic powder or something, if I were to serve this with dinner again. Maybe knead the dough a bit with a little more flour and see if cutting this with a biscuit cutter would make a difference. This would make a great breakfast biscuit with a homemade jam spread on the insides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This makes a very thick batter, almost a dough. The batter nicely fills 6 muffin tins. My biscuits took the full 30 minutes to bake. The sides browned nicely, but the tops were still very light. Next time I may add some melted butter to the tops about halfway through baking. I couldn't wait until dinner, and tried a biscuit. I half expected them to be bland, but they were delicious. The salt in the flour, richness from the butter and tangy undertone from the sour cream are a delightful combination. I spread a little homemade apple butter on one for a very tasty snack. It's so quick and simple and can easily be doubled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I tried this recipe as an experiment, just for grins, because some things about it were so unusual. What struck me? First, baking them in a muffin tin. Second, at the moderate temperature of 350*, a temperature more for cupcakes. Third, a stick of butter for a cup of flour?! Finally, some reviewers reported the tops didn't brown. I decided to try this recipe with a different take. I blended the butter with the flour until crumbly, then gently stirred in the sour cream, taking care not to overwork the dough so as to ensure tenderness. I like the crusty, sort of crunchy, golden exterior of a nicely baked biscuit so I baked them at 450* on a cookie sheet, lined with foil for easy clean-up. I dropped them onto the sheet in mounds and flattened them slightly. (If I try these again I'd skip that step - maybe they'd rise just a tad higher) I was pleased with the results, all of which I expected. I saved time and a pan to clean by dropping them onto cookie sheets. The biscuits baked to a golden brown, including the tops - and in 10 minutes! They were soft and tender with a crusty exterior. And because of all that butter they were rich and flavorful. But...as I also expected, these were TOO buttery - you could use half the butter (even if you had to add a little extra sour cream or even milk to compensate) and these would be much better - less butter-saturated and a little less salty. Four stars as I baked them, lower if baked as directed and they didn't brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Be sure and use unsalted butter otherwise these are WAYYYYY too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I made these for dinner last night and had to stop my son from eating ONLY these biscuits. I added garlic and cheddar chesse and baked in a mini-muffin tin. The only thing I will do differently next time is to lightly grease the tins. I think the cheese made them stick slightly. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Quick, easy, tasty. These will work well for easy breakfasts for my husband...he can just zap them in the microwave and add butter and jelly. I hope others give them a try now too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Photo by Jaime920
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I did 2 cups of Bisquick, 1 stick of butter, and 1 cup of sour cream! This was the perfect amount to fill a 12 count muffin pan. UNREAL! These are the best biscuits I've ever had. Won't be looking for another biscuit recipe....this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
The recipe given is a dough, not a batter. If you want a thick batter, use buttermilk instead of sour cream. It also has more butter than usual. To make a thick batter as described, I used: A scant cup of whole wheat pastry flour (I always use whole wheat), 1/2 tsp each baking powder and baking soda. Then I softened 3 Tbsp. margarine and mixed it w/ 1/2 c. lite sour cream and 3 Tbsp. water to get the right consistency & baked in a muffin tin as recommended, but at 400 deg in the toaster oven for 14 min. covered loosely w/ foil, and an additional 5 min. uncovered. The batter created so much steam that they didn't have enough substance for biscuits. There is such a thing as TOO light. They did have good flavor. Next time I will make it w/o water, as a soft dough. I will use my own labor-saving method and make scones (faster than biscuits) by hand-forming the dough into a log about 3" diameter, then patting it down into a 3/4" thick rectangle on a small, non-stick toaster oven tray. I then score it w/ a sharp knife into triangles--this size recipe makes about 5 good sized scones. It is much easier than rolling & cutting biscuits. I'll bake as I described above. What this recipe has taught me is that by softening the margarine, I can skip the usual scone step of cutting the shortening into the dry ingredients, and that lite sour cream is a slight improvement over my usual buttermilk. I appreciate learning to make already easy scones even easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I liked it pretty well. I put some melted butter on top and broiled them to get some color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comfort, Texas, USA
Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States