Super Simple Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I liked it pretty well. I put some melted butter on top and broiled them to get some color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comfort, Texas, USA
Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Expect a THICK dough when you make this. This is drop-biscuit consistancy. The flavor of these were good, though VERY crumbly. Like, I would bite into one and it would fall apart. That really was the only downfall for this recipe. When I eat a biscuit, I like to bite into it and not have to pick the pieces off of my plate. I think it could use another flavor besides the sour cream and butter. Next time, I'd like to add some garlic powder or something, if I were to serve this with dinner again. Maybe knead the dough a bit with a little more flour and see if cutting this with a biscuit cutter would make a difference. This would make a great breakfast biscuit with a homemade jam spread on the insides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
The recipe given is a dough, not a batter. If you want a thick batter, use buttermilk instead of sour cream. It also has more butter than usual. To make a thick batter as described, I used: A scant cup of whole wheat pastry flour (I always use whole wheat), 1/2 tsp each baking powder and baking soda. Then I softened 3 Tbsp. margarine and mixed it w/ 1/2 c. lite sour cream and 3 Tbsp. water to get the right consistency & baked in a muffin tin as recommended, but at 400 deg in the toaster oven for 14 min. covered loosely w/ foil, and an additional 5 min. uncovered. The batter created so much steam that they didn't have enough substance for biscuits. There is such a thing as TOO light. They did have good flavor. Next time I will make it w/o water, as a soft dough. I will use my own labor-saving method and make scones (faster than biscuits) by hand-forming the dough into a log about 3" diameter, then patting it down into a 3/4" thick rectangle on a small, non-stick toaster oven tray. I then score it w/ a sharp knife into triangles--this size recipe makes about 5 good sized scones. It is much easier than rolling & cutting biscuits. I'll bake as I described above. What this recipe has taught me is that by softening the margarine, I can skip the usual scone step of cutting the shortening into the dry ingredients, and that lite sour cream is a slight improvement over my usual buttermilk. I appreciate learning to make already easy scones even easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I saw Paula Deen make these and I couldn't wait to try them. They looked so good and it is melt in your mouth delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Be sure and use unsalted butter otherwise these are WAYYYYY too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I took the advice for the self-rising flour, also. Thank you for that tip, bellepepper! These were FANTASTIC!!! I have 2 young children and so I don't have alot of time to spend in the kitchen, so these were perfect as a side dish to dinner! I added some granulated garlic (didn't measure exactly, but probably about 1-2 tsp). 25 min in the oven was perfect! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Only needed to bake these for about 11 minutes at 325 degrees, but my oven tends to run hot. Just a note for people to check them early. Mine browned nicely on top too. (I used bellepepper's ratio for the self raising flour.) I also added about a third of a cup of finely grated cheddar cheese. And greased the pan so that the cheese wouldn't stick. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
The texture was nice and the biscuits did not stick to the tin, but they had a weird flour-y taste. I would not make these again. And yes, I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Island Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
VERY SIMPLE! Taste and texture were both light and airy. Added a little milk to get it to come together as I thought it should. I'm putting this one in my recipe box for quick retrevial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pieboy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was super easy... the biscuits were super buttery and didn't need anything on them. I did add half a cup of freshly grated parmesan to the batter before baking and the biscuits were melt in your mouth delicious! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States