Super Simple Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Wow! So easy and so delicious! I am not a great cook, but these biscuits turned out great. My husband hates sour cream, so I made sure he didn't see me make them. He ate them up! They were so moist and delicious warmed up the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
For ease these are great, for flavor, not the best but would be really good with gravy and with some jelly. Didn't need extra butter and liked the crunchy outside and moist inside. Very dense. I threw in a little sugar. I'm not the best at tweaking recipes so I really appreciate the changes that some people make on recipes. Gives me ideas that I would not have thought of. So, thanks for the easy good recipe and thanks to the positive changes some have made.I definitely will make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I would probably rate these lower (2.5?), but my husband liked them & I liked idea of cooking biscuits in a muffin tin. I thought the taste was OK, but while making them, I had to recheck the recipe, as I could not get the flour to incorporate that much butter w/o leaving huge clumps. In the end I added another cup of flour and a bit of milk. As other reviewers have mentioned, they crumble (OK, that may have been my fault due to the extra flour) and are anemic looking. And despite generously greasing the tin, they stuck terribly. Last night, I looked up a biscuit-only cookbook I have and realized that none of the recipes had a 2:1 flour to butter (margarine/shortening/lard, etc.) ratio like this recipe. In fact, many had no extra fat except for what was in the milk, yogurt or sour cream. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Amazing and amazingly easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made the biscuits this morning. They are super simple to make, just like their name reads. They are very delicious. The dough is firm enough that they do not have to be cooked in muffin tins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carki481

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I used fat free greek yogurt and made my own self rising flour based on some of the other reviews. I aslo kneeded this dough by hand for a few minutes to let the gluten react, then rolled it out and cut the biscuts out, sprayed the tops with baking spray (I use the walmart brand) and baked them on parchment paper. Kneeding the dough (and adding a bit of flour at the same time so it does not stick) keeps them from falling apart or crumbling. These turned out wonderful! I saved it to my recipe box and will be trying new flavors like garlic and cheese, maybe even nutmeg and pecans for a snack biscut. Thank you to everyone who posted reviews and thank you to Katie-Kate for sharing it with us. We loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith A Corey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pomaria, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I made these and added shredded cheese, garlic powder, and oregano to the dough. I then buttered the tops and sprinkled extra oregano on top. We all loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I LOVE THIS!!!!!!!!!! I used Bob's Red Mill WF/GF mix and added 1 ts. of baking powder and 1/2 ts. of salt, mixed with sharp chedder cheese and garlic powder....OMGOODNESSSS! Yummmooooo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
First I added just a little bit of milk to get the las bit of flour out of the bottom of the bowl. then I sprinkled all-purpose flour on the counter and gently patted the dough into a circle and folded it over a few times to keep them from falling apart too easily. I used a heart shaped cutter to cut them out. These were fantastic and we will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Payne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These were indeed very simple. However, I also had trouble getting them to brown, and thought they were a bit flat. I prefer fluffy bisquits, so i probably won't try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States