Super Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Really good recipe. I put it in the slow cooker after letting the meat marinade for an hour. I think the time in the slow cooker really helped. Meat was very tender and full of flavor. Added cornstarch to thicken sause and served over rice. Very Good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Absolutely delicious! The sweet and sour combination is fantastic, especially with the heat that comes from the chili sauce. I actually made them in the crockpot. First I browned the ribs in the olive oil and then dumped them into my crockpot with all of the other ingredients, cooked for about 4 hours on low and they turned out PERFECT. These ribs were such a hit the first time I made them, I've made them several times since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mks54

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
Wow! 2 thumbs up! This was a delicious meal! I wasnt sure at first, but the results were D-LICIOUS! I wasnt sure how hot the chili sauce would be and wanted it to be ok for my husband so I only added about 1/3 cup instead of the 1/2 cup it'd asked, but we couldnt taste the chili at all so it went great. I did try using crushed pineapples like others recommended, but I didnt have a preference, but husband would of prefer the chunky afterwards. Since it was very stewey, which, at first I was not sure about, but was GREATLY surprised by the results, I'd made jasmine rice to compliment it. I highly recommend having the ribs and its sauce served over white jasmine rice for a complete delicious meal! You will not be disappointed with this dish! I'm a beginner in cooking and this is a definate keeper in my recipe drawer! Thanks Adrienne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
very good. I think it would have been better if the ribs soaked for at least an hour in the cold marinade then baked for the 2 hours. long process but worth the wait. like a soaked in sweet/sour taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTHEROF4BIGEATERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
I have made this delicious recipe several times and always get '2 thumbs up' from hubby and son. It is one of our very favourites. I use a Thai chile sauce and use less then the 1/2 cup the recipe calls for. Give it a try as you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
I let the ribs soak in the sauce for an hour before cooking as recommended in a prior rating. Time consuming recipe since I had to make my own chili sauce but I have to tip my hat, great recipe overall. Thanks, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, New York, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
We all just love it!! I wasn't sure if I was suppose to add the juice of the pineapple, but I did. I also added the whole jar of chili sauce. Splashed some vinegar into it too. At the end of baking,I stirred in some cornstarch mixed with a little cold water. Served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
The ribs came out with a excellent flavor of sweet fruit and hot chili sauce. I would usse just half the amount of chili sauce but this is a personal perference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
'cest bon!! We doubled the pineapple & onions, and used "Rooster" chili PASTE (hotter/spicier!). Suggest cornstarch to thiken the juice/gravy. Served over extra wide egg noodles. This as also a wonderful recipe for PORK, CHICKEN, or CABRITO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2001
This recipe sounded so good, but my Family really disliked it. I ended up taking the ribs out of the cooking liquid, put them in a new baking dish and covered them with our favorite BBQ sauce so we could eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Y.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynwood, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States