Super Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Great recipe!!!! I had some short ribs we had found on sale at the butcher in the summer, and froze them up. So I just defrosted those and followed the recipe to the tee (except I cut everything in half since I only had 2lbs of meat, and I sauteed the onions with the meat). The meat fell apart with the touch of a fork, and was fabulous with some of the sauce drizzled over the cut up meat! Even the 2&4 year olds loved it! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakn4thekids

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Most AMAZING ribs I've ever had. This was the first time I'd ever made short ribs and I made the right choice by using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Pretty darned good - I didn't have the opportunity to marinate like other reviewers suggested, but it was still quite good - used fresh pineaple, tasty! Also didn't have chille sauce around so I used ketchup and tobasco type sauce - worked out very well. Will try it again for sure. I also don't have a Dutch oven so I used a frying pan for the first part (browning the meat) and then a baking pan with foil for the baking part - worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This recipe is amazing. Just the right blend of ingredients. It comes out so tender and flavorful. I serve it with rice or egg noodles as the sauce is so yummy AND you have plenty of it. It's not too runny or thick - just the right consistancy. I have made this dish 4-5 times and followed the recipe to a T. It is just wonderful. I just needed to add...after looking at many of the "other" short rib recipes this one seems to have the fewest ingredients and least amount of prep. In my opinion if you can get the best out of less - go for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Absolutely delicious! The sweet and sour combination is fantastic, especially with the heat that comes from the chili sauce. I actually made them in the crockpot. First I browned the ribs in the olive oil and then dumped them into my crockpot with all of the other ingredients, cooked for about 4 hours on low and they turned out PERFECT. These ribs were such a hit the first time I made them, I've made them several times since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mks54

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
We just had the short ribs for dinner. They were so yummy. We made mashed potatoes and shredded brussels sprouts with pancetta. We followed the original recipe using Thai chili sauce and an other review suggested but we would add a dash of hot sauce to kick up the taste next time. To cut down on the calories and fat, we made the mashed potatoes with a little butter, a little half and half and canned chicken broth to make them moist without adding more fat. My husband sliced the brussel sprouts and sauted them in a bit of olive oil and a tiny bit of butter along with pancetta and shallots. We added the pan sauce to the short ribs and mashed potatoes at serving and the trio (short ribs, light mashed potatoes and shredded brussel sprouts) made a memorable dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Delicious recipe! Spicy, tangy, sweet all wrapped up in one. I think this would also be good with pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatPhish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monticello, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
It was great. I didn't use honey and it was sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Ceschini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dro, Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Didn't have any chili sauce so took ketchup and added a couple T. of Tiger Sauce and 1 T. Chili Paste Sauce. As others suggested, thickened with cornstarch/water. Made a nice sauce to put over rice. Used boneless ribs. Forgot about taking the cover off halfway through cook time, just cooked covered the whole 2 hrs. and they just fell apart. Really good no-fail recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This recipe wasn't bad but it was missing something. The sauce was too soupy (although that could be fixed with the cornstarch.) It was also missing something I couldn't put my finger on. We ate it for dinner but I don't think I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States