Super Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Very good. Wanted something a little different, so instead of browning the meat in the Dutch oven, I put them in my smoker for 2 hours, using peach wood. Then I put them in the pot with the sauce, 1 HR covered and 30-45 minutes uncovered. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Delicious!! Never made short ribs before. Thank you to all reviews-helped me revise for my family and everyone loved it!! My 12 year old daughter even said it was best "meat" I ever made :) They told me to send in how I made it. Read that it was a little sweet, and since my son doesn't really like pineapple..I left it out. Also, since I was omitting the pineapple and some reviews said too much chili sauce, I used 1/4cup. I didn't soak ribs in water or marinade, but I seasoned them with salt and pepper after browning and cooked in dutch oven in oven for about 3 1/2hrs instead of 2, turning oven down to 325 after 3hrs. Added more beef stock as needed and salt and pepper to taste. Served over egg noodles with bread for dipping. Was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Margate City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
A terrific and simple recipe for short beef ribs. Takes some preparation (browning of meat) and assembly of all ingredients, but worth every minute of your effort ! I bought half of bone-in ribs and half of boneless of same cut, and it turned out great ! I also used the whole 20 oz can of pineapple chunks in their juice; instead of beef broth used low sodium chicken one and while browning beef to 1 Tabsp of OO added 1 Tabsp of unsalted butter. I browned and cooked the meat in same heavy aluminum pot with tight lid. Meat was ready in less than 2 hours. I served it with potato puree- and it was delicious, with a lot of sweet and sour sauce. Thank you very much for the recipe, Abloon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This recipe is wonderful...I serve them over rice and with a chunk of crusty bread for soaking up the juices...My parents loved them, and my grandfather who never says he likes anything said they were the best short ribs he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I'm not sure this worked for me, but I cooked them in a crock pot. The flavor was strange, but it could be the result of the slow cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Loved these. Made some variations, for what I had on hand. Used roast, cut into large chunks. No chili sauce, so used small can tomato paste and Sriracha sauce, about 1/4 cup. Simmered in a frying pan on the stovetop. I used the pineapple juice, which may have made it a little more soupy, but it was wonderful! Thanks for the recipe; am going to get chili sauce and try that, but will always add Sriracha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quincy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
THIS RECIPE IS VERY GOOD, IT IS VERY EASY TO MAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgeann
Home Town: Purdy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was okay. I ate my portion, but my kids and husband wouldn't eat theirs. It was extremely greasy from all the fat on the ribs and the flavor wasn't bad, but it wasn't a meal I'd repeat either. I think short ribs just aren't a hit with my family, no matter how they are prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
My mom used to make this all the time. Browned it and cooked in crockpot for 4 hrs. Used chicken stock bc that's all i had, used sweet chilli sauce and ommitted the honey and worcesthire sauce, doubled the pineapple and added a couple tbsp on apple cider vinegar...Delicious =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Fabulous! I used more chili sauce to cut the sweetness, crushed drained pineapple and thickened the sauce at the end with a little cornstarch and stock. Served with mashed potatoes my husband said that mine were better than a restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States