Super Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
Mmmmmmmmmmnnn!!! This was so good. I used a little less sausage than called for. After it was cooked, I removed it from the skillet, making sure to leave about 4 tbsp of drippings because a good gravy has the ratio of 2 tbsp flour to 2 tbsp fat to 1 cup milk. I cooked the flour and drippings mixture for a little bit and slowly stirred in the milk. Once it was thick and bubbly, I added the sausage back in and simmered to meld flavors. I found no salt was needed but did add lots of freshly cracked black pepper. Served over hot biscuits and it was delicious. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1038 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This was possibly the best sausage gravy I've ever had. I doubled the flour and milk as many reviewers suggested, but turned out I didn't need to double the grease. :) I used regular pork sausage seasoned with a bit of garlic and onion powder, sage, a tiny bit of thyme, and of course lots of black pepper. It did not need salt at all. The great thing about this recipe is that you can make the gravy right in the pan with the sausage. I've never done it that way before, and I've made lots of gravy! Try it! You'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
895 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I loved this gravy..tastes just like my favorite growing up. I actually doubled the sauce but not the meat..I felt there was plenty. It was great. Edit: This has become a regular recipe for us and when our families come to visit..they BEG me to make. it. It is also good leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
613 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eileen in OK
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I wanted to go to Cracker Barrel for breakfast, but money was tight, and my husband said, "We have biscuits in the fridge if you want to make eggs." I said, "What about biscuits and gravy?" I found this recipe, and used a 7oz package of brown and serve sausage links cut into dimes. Because there was little grease, I added a Tbsp of butter to get the flour dissolved and then followed the recipe exactly. The sauce gets really thick the longer you cook it, so I added a splash of milk to thin it a bit. I'm so glad I stayed in for breakfast this morning. This tasted like the gravy you get in a restaurant with your biscuits. A real keeper! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in OK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This is pretty much how I make my gravy...and it always turs out delicious. I only use 3 TBSP flour and sometimes I will ues 3 cups milk to make it stretch a little further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Hubby loves biscuits and gravy on weekend mornings...so I am always trying to find different ways to make it. Made this recipe exactly as written with the exception of the sausage (I had sage sausage on hand). It turned out delicious. Hubby loved it. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
This is an excellent, easy recipe that has become a family favorite! I seem to be homemade gravy impaired but this comes out perfect every single time. I always add some garlic and onion powder and that makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This was so easy to make, and my husband loved it. I did cut the amount of sausage in half as suggested by another review, and it still had more than enough sausage. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Like the commercial goes .... "Bob Evans, down on the farm" I grew up eating Bob Evans sausage gravy and biscuts at the Original Bob Evans Restaurant in Rio Grande,Ohio. This recipe is the original recipe. You can't improve on perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suchaprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Delicious! I added small amounts of flour every few minutes to make it thicker as I was stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,086) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States