Super Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was delicious, I used only half a can of concentrate and half a package of onion soup mix, as reccomended in the reviews above and it was so good, a perfect amount of sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I needed to use up a bag of oranges, so I put them through the juicer to make this recipe. I put frozen mixed vegetables in the bottom of the pan and covered with the chicken and sauce, baked it and served it over rice. It was tasty and has a strong orange flavor which we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
My family loved it! I altered a few things...I used both boneless breasts halved and legs. I sauteed sliced onions in olive oil and garlic then placed them on top of the chicken. I decreased the amount of dry onion soup mix to 1/4 cup. I then mixed the ingredients and poured them on top of the chicken and onions. I served it with white rice and steamed broccoli. It was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I use boneless chicken breasts instead of legs and 6 oz. of Tropicana oj from the jug. I also use French onion soup mix in place of the regular onion mix. My extra twist...and you will want to add this (TRUST ME)..is sauteeing about 1/2 onion in olive oil, garlic salt and pepper. Place on top of the chicken as the last ingredient before baking and WOW!! I have made this 3 times for my family and plan to make it for my parents when they visit next month. It is JUST that good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HungryMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This is a very tasty, easy recipe. I use 8 chicken thighs and serve with rice and frozen peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This recipe was OUTSTANDING. Five stars definitely. The orange flavor really stood out and contrary to other reviews, I did not think it was incredibly salty. I actually thought it was perfect the way it was. After baking it uncovered, I did throw it on the grill to get some charred marks on it. I made it alongside some green beans lightly tossed in lemon juice, salt and pepper and rice with Cilantro. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was one of the easiest meals I have made. My husband and I loved it, but not such a hit with my picky eating boys. Used Tropicana juice instead of concentrate and halved the onion soup. Added sauted onion, with minced garlic and pepper. Used thighs and legs - next time will use skinless. There was a lot of chicken fat in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
5 stars for being simple with few ingredients. It definitely is orange! I don't know why the other reviews said to halve things, keep in mind it is 6 oz of OJ and a normal add-three-cans-water concentrate is 12oz. I used 6 boneless skinless thighs I got on sale and this was the perfect amount of sauce. Great as is, and I think next time I'll bread and fry chicken pieces and top with this sauce for a crunchier version. Thanks for easy cheap Chinese food! ***side note - seems to be a milder orange flavor the day after***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
this was pretty good and it could be a five star next time i will cut back on the onion soup mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I like this a lot. It has a strong flavor, and that's fine with me. I used more chicken than the recipe called for and I like having lots of sauce. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States