Super Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I use boneless chicken breasts instead of legs and 6 oz. of Tropicana oj from the jug. I also use French onion soup mix in place of the regular onion mix. My extra twist...and you will want to add this (TRUST ME)..is sauteeing about 1/2 onion in olive oil, garlic salt and pepper. Place on top of the chicken as the last ingredient before baking and WOW!! I have made this 3 times for my family and plan to make it for my parents when they visit next month. It is JUST that good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HungryMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
I liked the orange flavor but the onion soup mix made it way too salty. Next time I would cut it back to half a package and supplement with additional dried onions. Also, there is way too much sauce for the amount of chicken. I ended up throwing quite a bit away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This is a very tasty, easy recipe. I use 8 chicken thighs and serve with rice and frozen peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This was a very simple recipe. I always like having a quick meal idea for those nights when we're on the go. I don't want to have to eat out! Next time I'll marinate the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dadcancook2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I needed to use up a bag of oranges, so I put them through the juicer to make this recipe. I put frozen mixed vegetables in the bottom of the pan and covered with the chicken and sauce, baked it and served it over rice. It was tasty and has a strong orange flavor which we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Pretty good. I would cut down on the orange juice next time for my taste, but my husband liked it the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This recipe has potential.Probably should cut back on the orange concentrate.Maybe use half a packet of dry onion soup mix. But other than that it was somewhat delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Everyone said there was so much sauce left over I decided to make more drumsticks with it. I used 11 legs and it was still too much sauce! This was good the first night we had it...then it just go to strong and oniony. Next time I make this I'll cut down the entire sauce recipe and then cut the onion soup mix even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Gray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elisa Sue
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
It was SUPER orange... good thing the title said so to prepare me because it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was one of the easiest meals I have made. My husband and I loved it, but not such a hit with my picky eating boys. Used Tropicana juice instead of concentrate and halved the onion soup. Added sauted onion, with minced garlic and pepper. Used thighs and legs - next time will use skinless. There was a lot of chicken fat in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Braised Orange Chicken

See how to make a simple orange sauce with chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States