Super Moist Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Have now made this 3 times, modifying the recipe according to other users' advice. Have indeed made some well-spiced pumpkin bread loaves, but we have never really 'loved' any of them. No matter what I've added or subtracted, I have always ended up with an incredibly dense, dry bread. I guess we prefer a recipe that turns out more like cake than bread. The recipe is very unique, though, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
The finished product was dry and the flavor was bland. I did not have coconut milk so I substituted buttermilk. Next time I'll use the coconut milk and add more spices..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rutherford, California, USA
Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This bread, which I made in the form of muffins, turned out beautifully! I have fed it to many friends and family and everyone loves it. I substituted applesauce for the vegetable oil, as I always do in baking. I also left out the coconut flakes and added in some clove, which I think really made a big difference. I froze the majority of muffins and take a few out a week. Makes this delicious treat last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Made these for Thanksgiving and they were great! I skipped out on the walnuts and flaked coconut, and it was super moist! I'll try with the extras next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I've NEVER made pumpkin bread before, but thought your recipe would be perfect for Thanksgiving this year. I was RIGHT! I made a recipe with nuts and another recipe without. Although I am partial to NOT having nuts in my breads, BOTH varieties turned out fabulous!!! You know you did good when even your picky grade-schoolers tell you it's "Yummy, Mom!" Thank you for this wonderful recipe. I will make it again for Christmas, but I think I'll have to make maybe a DOZEN loaves (to give away as gifts!) Very moist, as the name suggests. I did have a hard time finding "coconut milk" in the grocery store until a very nice young worker helped me find it down the oriental food aisle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Let me just say this bread was amazing! I made this bread for my Thanksgiving Dinner. With first batch i followed the recipe exactly. It turned out wonderfully and the recipe is very easy to follow. The second batch I made without nuts for those who didn't like them. This too turned out very nicely. I was not too sure about the coconut flakes but after trying the first batch I didnt even notice them so I continued to use them in the other batches and have had nothing but compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
excellent. went over so well for thanksgiving. i subbed applesauce for the oil and coconut milk. i omitted the coconut flakes and walnuts. next time i think i'll add raisins, it seemed like it was missing that taste. really good, really easy, fantastic base recipe. will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Augie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Fabulous! I omitted the coconut and walnuts and cooked for about an hour. The first time I cooked it for an hour and 15 as the recipe directed, and that was much too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This recipe is amazing. I gave the two loaves to my boyfriend to take to work and by lunch time I received an empty pan!! I had a sliver the night before and it was truly moist. I ommitted the nuts and the coconut flakes (not a fan of either ingredient) and the bread was absolutely delicious. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koral

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I have been making this for years also. It's always a huge hit. Added raisins to this and it is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States