Super Moist Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Best pumpkin bread I've had! I made muffins and a loaf out of this full recipe, using 3 1/4 c flour and cooking muffins 22 minutes as suggested by a previous reviewer. Made a couple of adjustments to cut down on the refined/processed ingredients as well: for flour: 1 1/4 c whole grain spelt flour 2 c white whole wheat flour for sugars: 1 c unrefined molasses sugar 1/2 c organic blue agave nectar for oil: I melted 3T butter in glass measuring cup, stirred in a 1/2 c size cup of applesauce, and made up the difference with vegetable oil I also added a bit of allspice. The result was a deliciously cake-like, perfectly sweet and spicy bread that I'm having trouble not devouring. My 14-mo-old loves it, too, and I don't have to feel guilty for giving her some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was great, I left out the nuts because I didn't have any on hand. I also used pumpkin pie filling so it was really sweet like cake. The coconut gives it that something special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stphard212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is amazing. I added a tiny amount of cloves and ginger and left out the flaked coconut and walnuts. SO moist. This is definitely replacing my current pumpkin bread recipe. Thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This is a great recipe, I've made it several times both as listed and with modifications. The modifications I make are: using all wheat flour, substituting about a 1/4 cup of molasses for some of the sugar, and no flaked coconut. Turns out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I simply love this recipe it's the best ever! The coconut milk really makes it super moist. I have made this repeatedly and have added other ingredients such as other types of nuts, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Loved it! The texture is perfect, the flavor is subtle and complex, the recipe is easy to follow. I used fresh pumpkin puree and followed some of the suggestions here for a healthier version, and yes, it tasted terrific. Skipped the nuts and coconut, added 1/2 t. each of cloves, ginger, and 1 t. each of nutmeg and cinnamon. Baked in two disposable loaf pans of recommended size. If you fill them too full, the bread will not bake in the time prescribed here, so I took the fully baked loaf out, turned off the oven and left the gooey loaf in the oven until the oven completely cooled. The loaf was perfectly baked throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This was good but could be better. I made it exactly true to the recipe, but felt afterwards, I probably could have gotten away with putting all the dough in one bread pan. One was slightly smaller that the other, and was too done after having removed it from the oven early. I would definitely check it every so often because the second one came out great and I took it out about 25 minutes earlier than it said to. The second one was really moist and tasty... If you can't find the coconut milk, go to the alcohol section of the grocery where they have the mixers. I thought it was a strange place to have it and it took me forever to find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Doyle Lundy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This recipe is addicting. :) I've made it at least once a week since I found it. My family and I all love it! However, to make myself feel OK about eating that much of it, I cut out the white sugar entirely (reduces to only 2 cups sugar), replace 1/3 of the oil with apple sauce, plus I use coconut oil. I like to make it extra spicey, too, and it's good with dried cranberries!! This one's a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This is really the tastiest and moistest and most delicious pumpkin bread! I didn't use the coconut flakes or walnuts, and it still turned out great! I have also made muffins (baked for 20 minutes at 350). Yummers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
The best pumpkin bread I`ve ever had. Super easy and even more delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Living In: Thornwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States