Super Moist Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I cut this recipe in half to ten servings. I had to make a couple substitutions only because I was limited in ingredients. I used pecans instead of walnuts, light brown sugar and instead of coconut milk, I used equal amounts regular milk with a teaspoon of coconut extract. I baked my muffins at 350 for exactly 20 minutes. Though they turned out moist and delicately spiced, these were a little too sweet. The coconut flavor with the pumpkin was different but in a good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
The first time I made this, it was good, but seemed to lack flavor. So the second time, I added 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves and it really made a difference. This bread comes out very moist and both vegans and non-vegans have loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
i was so glad to find a vegan pumpkin bread recipe, especially one with such a creative alternative! the coconut is a great touch and it really does come out very moist. when i have a loaf to some vegan-skeptic family members they begged for more! i did substitue half a cup of applesauce for some of the oil (.5 cup oil + .5 cup appleasuce) and it turned out just as great and even more healthy : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I made many changes, but this turned into a fabulous (and healthier) bread: -subbed 2 c. whole wheat flour -subbed 1/2 c. applesauce for 1/2 oil -used light coconut milk -omitted white sugar! (Trust me--this bread is so sweet, you won't even notice) -increased spices by adding a little extra cinnamon, 1/2 t. cloves, and 1/2 t. ginger -omitted flake coconut. -increased nuts to 1 1/2 c. With all these changes, this was the most satisfying pumpkin bread I’ve ever eaten, vegan or not. Baking time was exact—they were perfect after 1 hr. 15 min. My kids loved it, and I will make it over and over again! I'll also try this recipe for banana and zucchini bread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
Wonderful bread. I made a pumpkin bread recipe the other day and incorporated from that 1/2 tsp. Allspice and 1/4 tsp. cloves to give this one a little more kick. Smelled wonderful baking and tasted great too. Mad a spread with cream cheese, honey and cinnamon to spread on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
This tastes GREAT! I cut the recipe in half and made 12 cupcake sized muffins. They turned out perfect. I also substituted applesauce for 3/4 of the oil, and omitted the shredded coconut. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Being that I'm a total meativore, I have never attempted vegan cooking before. However, one of the couples we frequently host dinner parties with are vegans and I wanted to cook for the group without making them feel like they couldn't eat anything. I made vegan chili, vegan cornbread, and this. All three dishes turned out amazing, but this was the crowning glory. The lack of proccessed "fake" ingrediants so common to vegan dishes really made this dish. It was a total hit with my friends and at work the next day. It makes a great breakfast snack or dinner dessert. My non vegan friends loved it with cream cheese icing. I added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1/2 tsp of ground cloves. Next time I will try shredding the coconut better and subbing applesauce for half of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUNGFUMUNKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
This is one of the best pumpkin breads I have ever made(& I've made ALOT) It is so moist & the coconut milk is the key ingredient. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
As I only have one loaf pan and didn't want to bother with halving the recipe, I can say it turned out beautifully when done in a 9x13 baking dish. An excellent recipe for vegan families (just substitute the white and brown sugar with rapadura and a little molasses) or family members with dairy allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
I didn't care for the taste of this bread, and it especially wasn't worth all the extra fat and calories from that much oil and coconut milk. I was disappointed because it didn't seem like the pumpkin was spiced enough and the bread itself had a strange aftertaste to me. I have a whole bunch of it now and I have no idea what to do with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States