Super Moist Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
this bread is delicious! very moist and flavorful. i made a few small changes by using all brown sugar and leaving out the flaked coconut. i also added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla and 1/4 teaspoon allspice because i had them on hand, but i'm sure the recipe is fine as is. i will definitely make this again. i recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I halve this recipe and make 12 muffins, but only cook for about 45 minutes. These are friggin AWESOME muffins! They are moist, but not at all "gummy" like vegan muffins can tend to be - trust me, no one will ever EVER guess these are vegan! They are simply delicious!! The best!!! Even my sister-in-law, a pastry chef, was raving about them and said I should sell them! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Soooo good!! I went ahead and added 2 eggs and didn't add the nuts or flaked coconut. They are so moist. I'm going to add mini loaves to Christmas goodie baskets and hand them out to neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This is a fabulous recipe to which I only made a few minor revisions based on the recommendation of others. I, too, substituted 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/2 cup oil for the 1 cup of oil. I also used 1 tsp. vanilla and 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice to the mix. The best part was that I used organic shredded coconut from Whole Foods and it is finely shredded and unsweetened and the perfect addition to the recipe. I think it would change the consistency to use regular shredded coconut so if you can find unsweetened shredded coconut, use it. The bread smelled wonderful baking and I made one loaf and one 8x8 pan and only needed to bake them for 50 minutes. When I made 6 mini-loaves, I baked them for 30 minutes. I brought this to Thanksgiving dinner and was shocked when a picky eater of the kid variety bypassed everything on the table and went straight for the pumpkin bread and even ate two slices. My kids love it and I have even made small muffins to tuck into lunches. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
1 hour and 15 minutes was way too long to bake this. At least for my oven. I cooked for 1 hour on the second batch and it was better. Honestly, this recipe is just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Finally, an outstanding vegan recipe that absolutely no one would know is vegan. I made the following changes: Used one 9 inch pan, used 2 cups of packed dark brown sugar and no white sugar, used 1 cup of natural apple sauce and no oil, added lots of spice: heaping amounts of allspice, ground cloves, cinammon, and nutmeg plus about a teaspoon and a half of vanilla. I forgot to put the walnuts in so I roasted them and sprinkled them on top. I also omitted the coconut flakes and used a low fat coconut milk. This is an excellent recipe and probably would still be perfect if you made it as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Being that I'm a total meativore, I have never attempted vegan cooking before. However, one of the couples we frequently host dinner parties with are vegans and I wanted to cook for the group without making them feel like they couldn't eat anything. I made vegan chili, vegan cornbread, and this. All three dishes turned out amazing, but this was the crowning glory. The lack of proccessed "fake" ingrediants so common to vegan dishes really made this dish. It was a total hit with my friends and at work the next day. It makes a great breakfast snack or dinner dessert. My non vegan friends loved it with cream cheese icing. I added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1/2 tsp of ground cloves. Next time I will try shredding the coconut better and subbing applesauce for half of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUNGFUMUNKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I used a fresh sugar pumpkin for this recipe- cut in half, removed seeds, and baked at 350 for an hour, then cooled and pureed the flesh. This bread IS moist! It was fun to use the coconut milk. I couldn't really taste it, but not sure if you're supposed to or if it's just for texture.... I would add a little more cinammon next time. I did half whole wheat pastry flour, and half unsweetened applesauce for the oil (used canola). I didn't have time to toast the walnuts and it was still good. This has a really mild flavor. I kind of wish I had added some chocolate chips, but it is still good without them (just not great, for me at least). It is very good sliced with just a touch of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I used 1/2 cup of applesauce, 1/2 cup of canola oil & I added a tsp of vanilla. Forgot to decrease my sugar some for my sweetened coconut so I cut back on the coconut. I wish I had put it through teh food processor to shred it up more. I used pecans for walnuts because that's what I had & I used 2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice for the cinnamon & nutmeg. I made 4 half loafs & 2 tiny loafs (for my grandsons). I baked @ 325 for 30 minutes on the mini-loaves & baked the half loaves for 50. This was very good! Because this stays so moist I am mailing a loaf to my Dad...it should still be perfect when it reaches him a couple of days from now. Thansk Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I added a little clove & 5-spice and substituted 4 oz applesauce for half the oil. Next time, I will leave out the coconut and add raisens. I baked the entire batch in a silicone bundt pan and it turned out very moist and tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Sewall Bossart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States