Super Lemon Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I just made the ice cream and it came out great! I did, however, put only 1/2 cup of lemon juice in. The taste is perfect. I felt it had enough lemon taste. I also strained the mixture. I am a pastry chef, and that is how we did it in the restaurants. I also suggest to put it in an ice bath, before you put in the refrigerator. When the mixture was cool, I then put in lemon zest. I may experiment and put some lavender in it next time, if I can find. Hard in SC. I did find a recipe where they put chopped candied lemon peel in the ice cream. That maybe something to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Abraham-Ross

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I have always been partial to frozen lemon custard, and this recipe hits the spot exactly! I don't mind the lemon zest at all, but others who tried my recipe weren't so keen on it even though they snarfed down my first batch without hesitation. Needed to make a second batch and hide it in the deep freeze. Hands down, the best recipe for ice cream I have made to-date. This is a keeper, and I'm not changing a thing. Now all I need to do is buy a bigger ice cream freezer to make double batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Wow! This is so good. I did add the zest, but not too much, only of 1 lemon. This was creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
WAY too lemon-y! Tastes more like sorbet than ice cream! Consistency is great and looks like ice cream but the flavor is way too intense and off-putting. I did as other reviewers had suggested straining the lemon zest and reducing lemon juice from 3/4 cup to 1/2 and it was still too lemon-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Absolutely delicious. I used semi-skimmed milk instead of the half and half cream, otherwse kept to the recipe. Lemon zest was very finely grated and kept in the mix and it is fine in the resulting ice cream. Can't see any of my children having a problem with it. Looking forward to serving this with ginger snap baskets or with hot ginger sponge puddings. Think it will go down exceptionally well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Mmmmm, refreshingly tart, but not too tart. Just right sweet. A GREAT after dinner dessert because of it. But...I made a couple of (minor) deviations. I made a lemon-lime version, using half of each. Also, after juicing enough lemons and limes to get that 3/4 cup of juice I found I only had about half the zest required. I wasn't about to have "naked" limes and lemons laying around, so I used the 1-1/2 T. of zest and called it a day. It was perfect! In fact, I'm not so sure I would have enjoyed this any more using twice as much zest and may even have enjoyed it less. I loved that the recipe called for my preferred ratio of 2:1 heavy cream to half-and-half and, while I was a little concerned about how the added large amount of lemon juice would affect the mouth feel, I needn't have worried. In spite of adding essentially 3/4 cup of "water" to the mix, the resulting ice cream was still creamy and rich, with no unpleasant iciness. This tasted darn close to a Key Lime or lemon pie and I'm thinking some coarsely chopped graham crackers folded in at the end would be awesome good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Fan flippin TASTIC! I have made this several different ways, beside just as written. It's great like it is, but we prefer to reverse the proportions of heavy cream and half-and-half, meaning one cup heavy cream and two cups of half-and-half. It's a bit less unctuous that way, with less cholesterol and fewer calories, allowing that fresh, clean taste to shine. It's still wonderfully creamy this way, and quite rich enough. I especially like to use Meyer lemons from our back yard, harvested just before making the base. Subbing 1/4 cup limoncello for 1/4 cup of the lemon juice keeps it scoopable right from the freezer. I have also steeped 1 cup of roughly torn basil leaves in the heated cream/sugar mix for an hour, straining the leaves out before proceeding with the custard. SPECTACULAR, as well as quite chic. We love it topped with fresh strawberries, raspberries, or blueberries. Any which way you make this, however, you're going to love it even more than you think you will. It's the type of thing that sneaks up on you. After it's all gone, you'll be pining for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This is the best ice cream I've EVER made. It is delicious and refreshing, it's creamy and has a very clean, fresh finish. Keep the zest in, as it adds a kick and you don't really notice it if it's been grated finely enough. Cannot recommend this enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Loved this recipe however, I had wanted a lemon/ginger ice cream recipe. this is what I did! Near the end of the freezing time in my ice cream machine, I added crushed ginger snaps with minced candy ginger. It was sooooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I made this as directed with the additional steps adding in some limoncello (about a 1/3 cup) on top of 1/2 cup of lemon juice (reduce amount of juice and replace with limoncello) and using a chinois to strain out the zest prior to refrigerating the custard. Very smooth, very creamy. I am making a second double batch this weekend for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Wiley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States