Super Hot and Sour Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Wonderful soup - made just as directed and is now family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Not very spicy, but VERY delicious! Thank you for a new favorite soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Bing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
i was worried at first bc of the amount of liquid, but it came out really good.. didn't have shrimp stock so i used some bullion instead, used fresh slice mushrooms, used large shrimp that i sauteed with a bit of lemon pepper seasoning salt, used soy instead of fish sauce and reduced it about a third, used jalapeno instead of the red chile pepper and kept most of the seeds/vein in.. me and bf totally enjoyed this.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Love the base. Surprised at how complex the flavors are. I personally like my soup to eat like a meal so I added bean sprouts, carrots, celery and 7oz rice noodles. Since I added so much extra I also added 8 more cups of water/lobster stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This soup was very easy and turned out great. I used bigger shrimp that I cooked in the broth, and I served it with thin rice noodles. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
My BF and I made this this weekend. He wanted a soup that reminded him of one he used to get from a Thai woman at a restaurant when he wasn't feeling good. We made a stock with the shrimp shells (used big, rather than salad sized, which we think was the right choice...at least for us) and added some clam juice and fish stock concentrate to the liquid. In the soup he wanted lemon grass like he was used to in the one from the restaurant. We used the canned mushrooms and also added some fresh shitake. We used a whole tube of Gourmet Garden's finely chopped red chilies because we couldn't find fresh. We like things HOT. This was nowhere near hot enough for us so we kept adding until it reached our desired heat level. We also doubled the cilantro because we love that flavor as well. Many of these ingredients are very salty. I was worried that our stock was not salty enough and a bit too bland, but when everything was added it was PLENTY salty, so I suggest not adding extra salt until the end. We loved this and he said it was just like the one from the restaurant. We had a blast making this together. I would have rated this a four but my BF was so happy with it that it gets a five:) Thank you so much!++++Just made this again and added some mussels and used oyster sauce because we couldn't find our fish sauce. Added lots of heat and-again- this was a great soup. Easy to get down when my stomach was upset.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
OMG!!! Anytime I make shrimp, either grilled, bbq, or just boiled, I take the shells and cook down a stock with a small amount of water with the leftover shells. I had 8 cups sitting in my freezer and made this...to die for! After doubling the recipe, I added a large can of bean sprouts, some yellow miso paste, rice noodles and sriracha for spice since I didn't have red chile peppers. This is a great recipe. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Just what I needed to use up some limes. Easy preparation, quick and delicious meal. I used large shrimp--made the shrimp broth with the shells, then proceeded with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Okay, I very rarely review recipes, but I had to on this one. My non-english speaking Vietnamese girlfriends mom gave me a thumbs up for this dish. I did of course make changes: Used 8 cups of shrimp stock(4 shrimp boullion cubes in 8 cups of water), 3-10 oz cans of straw mushrooms drained, 1-8 oz can of sliced Bamboo Shoots drained, 1 brick of firm Tofu sliced into 3/4 inch cubes, 3 Roma tomatoes seeded and chopped into 1 inch pieces, Fish sauce to taste about 6 Tbls, 1 Tbls White pepper and 2 pounds of frozen Cocktail Shrimp . Served with Lime wedges, Cilantro, blanched Bean Sprouts, Hot Chili oil, Pho noodles and Rice prestaged on the dinner table so individuals could adjust hot and sour to their own taste, and choose to eat plain or with noodles or rice. Hope this helps. Stu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Absolutely Loved IT! It's superb, but a milder and easier version of the Thai soup~Tom Yum Goong. I added red curry paste and tamarind sauce; tripled the mushrooms~oyster and button. Finish off with bean sprouts. Definitely a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States