Super Hot Cereal Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Good mixture but needs to be sweetened even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Wonderful recipe! Who doesn't love something homemade? For some reason homemade just seems to taste better. I added some cinnamon and nutmeg to the mix and you could easily sub some craisins for the raisins and add nuts such as pecans or walnuts. Not only is this nice to have on hand, but for me this recipe is a definite keeper to place inside jars for "breakfast themed" baskets to give away at the holidays. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I used the recipe exactly with the exception of the raisins. I wanted to be able to make different varieties of oatmeal depending on my mood and didn't think it would greatly affect the main dish. I think this is a fantastic base and will definitely become a staple at our house. The only thing I want to mention is that you will need to add more brown sugar and water than specified. I couldn't taste any sweetness at all but I prefer that for my base. That way it can be changed for personal preference. The water amount was fine to start but after five minutes or so it was gummy and hard. My son likes to eat it in the car to school so we will have to put more water so it stays creamy. Add In Tips: Cinnamon, Sliced Almonds, Sugared Pecans, Dried Cranberries, Dried Apricots chopped, Sauteed Apple Pieces, Maple Syrup, Caramel Trail Mix...the list goes on and on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is a good recipe - but not for diabetics. It has about 40 net carbs versus only 6 grams of protein, which means that the pancreas will be producing much more insulin than glucogan. In type 2 diabetes, studies have shown that pumping out more insulin to process carbohydrates than glucogan to process protein can lead to high insulin levels in the blood and more insulin resistant cells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I am rating this recipe quite low because it is so bland and without a lot of additions I would not have eaten it (I tried). Here is what I did to bring it up to a 4 or maybe even 5 star recipe in my book: added 1/2 cup wheat germ, 1/2 cup dried apple bits, 2 additional tablespoons of brown sugar, 1 teaspoon salt, 2 teaspoons cinnamon, and substituted dried cranberries for the raisins (personal preference for that one). Basically it is a compilation of all the other suggestions already posted - thanks everyone! If you do tend to add sugar, honey or maple syrup to your cereal the extra sugar probably isn't necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
My kids are serious Quaker instant junkies. I made this and thought it tasted ok, but they cried every morning until I bought the instant oatmeal again. Too bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I love this. In addition to the raisins, I also added dried unsweetened cherries. MMMM... I think I might add some spice to it today though. If you find it rather bland, add some salt, a pinch at a time directly to your bowl. Remember, salt is a flavoring agent/enhancer. The salt will help it to not be bland. If you are on a low salt/no salt, then I don't know what to tell you. However you make it, enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This is a great mix! I hate the little envelopes of instant oatmeal because my son will eat at least 2 in one sitting and they are gone in a couple of days! With this mix you can pick the flavors you want and the portion you want for a lot less $$$. I skipped the raisins (my son's orders;) and added roasted/chopped pecans and 1/2 cup of wheat germ and about 1 tsp cinnamon. I found that adding 1cup water to 1cup oats and cooking it in the microwave for 2.30min made the results that I like (nice and thick and ready for me to add butter, milk, or maple syrup without having soup!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I love this! Way better than the packaged oatmeal. I like to mix Craisins in with the raisins. I also add a heaping T of my homemade pumpkin pie spice from this site. I even use the old fashioned oats. I leave a baggie full in the fridge at work & always have a healthy, warm, filling breakfast! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Needs more sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Hot Italian Giardiniera

A tangy, spicy pickled-pepper condiment for sausages and beef sandwiches.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States