Super-Good Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I actually find this too filling, so use 1/3 cup oatmeal and 3/4 cup water. As others suggested, I substituted ground flax seed for the oil. I also left out the honey. I didn't have soy milk, so added some cottage cheese and about 1/4 cup berries. I have had this for 5 days in a row and think I could and will eat it every day for breakfast. EDIT: I first reviewed this 10 months ago and I am still eatin it at least 4-5X a week. It is healthy and fills me up so I'm never snack through the mornings. UPDATE: It's been 2 years and I still eat this at least 4-5X a week, with a big spoon of cinnamon mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Great recipe - I added some cinnamon, nutmeg, and a dash of vanilla extract. Instead of topping it with soy milk, I topped it with a huge spoonful of fat free honey flavored organic greek yogurt. This was very filling and very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This is a good base recipe, but I have had to make some changes to suit my personal tastes. My biggest problem is the flaxseed oil... it does not combine well and looks oily. Not very appetizing. So I used ground flaxseed. I also use skim milk instead of soy, since I don't like soy. Otherwise, this is certainly a good way to make oatmeal even healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKALANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisberry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
Excellent easy fast breakfast. Tasty way to get beneficial flaxseed oil. I added 1 Tablespoon of dried fruit bits and used vanilla soy milk. This recipe is good AND good for you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
I tried this recipe for the first time yesterday and liked it so much I had it again for breakfast this morning. This breakfast is suprisingly filling. A big plus to this recipe is that it is quick to make and it's easy to clean up afterward. It's healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This was good. I used ground organic flaxseed sprinkled on top after cooking the oatmeal, and organic agave in place of the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I am always trying to eat more oatmeal because of the health benefits. This recipe makes me want to eat it in the morning! I always add a dash of cinnamon for my liking. MMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
If you don't normally like oatmeal, you probably won't like this recipe either. For me, it isdelicious, and the wheat germ provides a wonderful texture. Use the honey at your discretion. I only use 1.5 teaspoons. This is the only way I make oatmeal now. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was pretty good. I didn't have flaxseed oil, I used a tablespoon of ground flax seed and just added an extra tbsp. of liquid. I used organic apple cider instead of plain water, I stirred in a half teaspoon of homemade apple pie spice and I stirred in 1 tbsp. organic honey before eating. I don't drink soy milk so I used nonfat milk. This was quite a filling breakfast. The great thing about oatmeal for breakfast is it can be different every time so play around and use whichever liquid/stir in's that sound best for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Quick and easy, great on cold mornings! I throw in apple chunks before I microwave it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States