Super Filling Cannellini Bean and Escarole Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Couldn't find escarole so used kale instead. This was soooo good! Definitely making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Yummy! My husband and 4 of my 6 kids gobbled this up! I doubled the recipe, but we had so many leftovers I probably wouldn't have needed to. It really is filling. I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned and one romaine heart instead of escarole because I don't know what that is. I'm not a fan of cooked lettuces, so I probably won't do that next time and I'll add more onion and garlic. 4 stars because it's a little bland before you add seasoning. It was good and a nice break from Italian, Mexican and Chinese which we do frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIDSUMMERMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Used radicchio. Pretty good with that substitution and I like that it has such healthy ingredients. I rinsed and drained the beans, so there was not enough liquid and I had to keep adding water. Next time I would keep some of the tomato juice. Needed salt and pepper, and I'll try chicken sausage next time, too, for a little more flavor. Like this one, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was good but could use a few tweaks to make it better. I'll add more seasoning next time and maybe some red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kd328
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Super delish! My whole family loved this! I made a couple of changes like using navy beans, green onions, & I nixed the cheese to cut a bit of the fat. I also didn't have a lot of time to cut & prepare chicken breasts, so I used a bag of Oscar Mayer turkey bacon bits. I just threw them in at the end with the escarole. I served it over plain cous cous. It was scrumptious & did not need any additional seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This recipe caught my eye because of the ease of preparation and the use of whole, healthful ingredients. I was shopping for the ingredients when I noticed that fully cooked, flavored chicken sausages are packaged in the 12 oz. portion called for in the recipe. I'm glad I made the substitution, as I believe the final product would have been slightly bland with just chicken, even after seasoning with salt and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Pretty good. I substituted chickpeas for the cannelini, and swiss chard for the escarole, because its what I had on hand. I would definitely add some spice of some sort next time! Served it with rice. Healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
My entire family ate this meal and it was super easy. I didn't have frozen spinach, or canned tomatoes...so I diced up one whole tomato and sauteed some mushrooms with the chicken. That's the only difference and it was delicious!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sroses
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
My grocery store does not carry Escarole. I spoke to the produce manager and he suggested romaine lettuce. So I added it at the end right before I melted the cheese on top. It was de-lish. The romaine gave it a nice crisp texture. Don't forget to add salt and pepper. it really needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sroses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This is terrific and wonderfully filling. Substituted diced tomatoes w/chilis in tomato juice (added a nice kick), rinsed beans and discarded liquid to reduce amount of salt, plus added 1 tablespoon fresh minced rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States