Super Fast and Easy Chicken a la King Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Great, easy recipe! I did make a few changes, though. I used frozen peas and frozen, crinkle-cut carrots. I also used chicken broth instead of water; and added a little half & half to make it a little creamier. Soooooo nice on a cold Pittsburgh night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephMau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
This was so fast and easy to make...and it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I used one can of cream of mushroom soup, one can of beef gravy, peas, parmesan cheese, a bit of shredded mozzarella, and left-over chicken over rice. It was fast, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NJChick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
OMG!! My family loved it! This is a great recipe when you need something fast but good. I had a couple pieces of chicken left over, so I boiled them then pulled meat apart into small bite size pieces. I changed the recipe a little. I used 1 family size can of cream of chicken and 1 family size can of cream of mushroom. I substituted the 2 cups of water for 1 can of chicken broth. I also added a half cup of milk, a half cup of frozen copped onions, 1 small bag of frozen peas & carrots and a 8 ounce container of sour cream, as suggested in other reviews to take the can taste away. We poured it over toast and bisquits, DELICIOUS. I will be adding this to my recipe book. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I grew up eating a very similar recipe. A quick, simple and delicious way to use up leftovers. I used the last of a Thanksgiving turkey and it made a nice comfort food meal. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Quick and easy. I added a touch of sour cream to make it creamy, and added pepper and carrot pieces in addition to the well-rinsed canned peas (which I had on hand otherwise I would have used frozen) Served over biscuits. Pretty good in a pinch. Not recommended for low sodium diets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
A little bland, mostly because I hate canned soups, but I made this when we didn't have much time for dinner. I added 8oz sour cream to lighten the canned-taste, and used chicken broth instead of water. Toward the end, I added 1 tbsp corn starch to 1 tbsp cold water, stirred in, and let it boil for 2 mins to thicken it up a bit. Due to son's dietary restrictions, I used diced zucchini and fresh sauteed mushrooms instead of peas. Served over large grands biscuits, and the fam went back for seconds. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Okay, this is great! I used leftover turkey from Thanksgiving (soooo good) and substituted broccoli for the veggies and cream of chicken for the soup-I do not like mushrooms. It was so good that I will make it again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahck19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Try putting ingredients in slow cooker and have them wait wile you pound the chicken breasts flat, trimming out the fat, cut in cubes and browning them in heated oiled skillet. Placing slightly browned chicken on a paper toweled plate is suggested before they go in the slow cooker. Let it ride on 4-hour High setting. Add a frozen bag of mixed veggies halfway through cooking. Goes very good with Minute Rice. Your discovery of your perfect ingredient tweak combination will add more rating stars to this good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I made this recipe using a crock pot. First heated the chicken, chicken soup, flour, and a dash of tabasco on Low for 7 hours. Then added the canned peas and canned mushrooms for 1/2 hour. Served over steamed white rice. It was OK, nothing to go nuts over. Basic Chicken A La King.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States