Super Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
Had to change the recipe slightly as I didn't have all the ingredients on hand. I used cream of chicken soup (w/out herbs), an onion soup mix, fresh mushrooms and white zin. I also used frozen chicken breasts that I cut up since I was in a hurry and cooked over medium-low heat for about 2 hours. My husband loved it!!! Haven't heard him rave like this in quite a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This turned out so well! I didn't have any wine so I omitted that, used cream of mushroom soup instead of the mushrooms, added a minced clove of garlic and some fresh rosemary and it turned out very well--so tender! Its a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
I thought this was very good and very easy. A good combination in my book! I followed the suggestions of a few others and added an envelope of Lipton Onion Soup Mix instead of the chopped purple onion. Also, I didn't have the cream of chicken and herb on hand so I tried Cream of Chicken Dijon soup instead. It had a great flavor! Most of all, I just couldn't believe that was all there was to it. Throw it all in the crock pot and a few hours later we had a nice dinner. I served it over rice one night, had a few leftovers that I served over small shell pasta for lunch later. Both were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I changed nearly everything about this recipe. I used 2 cans of soup, 1 cream of chicken and mushroom and 1 98% fat free cream of chicken. I used pearl onions instead and fresh mushrooms and omitted the wine. I read other reviews about concerns over bland chicken, to fix that I browned my seasoned frozen chicken breasts over high heat and then added them to cook in the crock pot, it worked perfectly and I think it wouldn't have been as good without doing that. Served it over egg noodles with French bread. It was really yummy and a great concept. Thanks! ***UPDATE*** I finally managed to remember white wine at the store and it makes quite a bit of difference in the flavor. It's a pretty heavy sauce and the addition of the white wine gives it an almost crisp feeling in my mouth. It's a subtle difference and I noticed but my hubby didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
No question --this is super easy and as a mom of 2 small kids--I will certainly make again. I followed the recipe exactly minus the marsala wine and it was delicious--and I did sprinkle the chicken with a little garlic. I thought the chicken was very moist and the sauce was great--I spooned it over my green beans. Also--very healthy--only 5 weight watcher points for a filling serving!!!!! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Super easy is right. I used whole chicken breast instead of strips and fresh mushrooms instead. It turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
Like the other reviewers I added onion soup mix but also left in a few white onions. I used a few dashes of generic white wine and also added about 3/4 can of milk while cooking to give it a little richer taste. Left out the mushrooms because I didn't have any. When the chicken (boneless skinless chicken thighs because they are cheaper) was done cooking (I left it in for about 6 hours alternating high and low on the cooker), I took it out and placed it in a dish, and then added a little flour to the pot, making a really nice gravy. Served over wide egg noodles... and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This was really yummy and very easy. However, I changed the recipe as follows: I used purple and yellow onions, fresh mushrooms as well as canned, a crushed clove of fresh garlic, since I couldn't find cream of chicken with herbs, I used cream of chicken and mushroom and added fresh thyme, parsley and a pinch of dried rosemary. I also added a second can of golden mushroom just for more sauce. I added a Tbsp of Marsala. Served with egg noodles and peppered asparagus. My house was happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
With my daughter home with mono, I've cooked and reviewed more recipes in one month than I have in a year! This is a great and easy recipe which I also added a package of onion soup mix. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
My husband and son are quite the food snobs and usually have something to say about any food I fix but all I heard from them was moaning and lip smacking. When they were done I was ordered to make this again. I have to admit that I didnt follow recipe to a "T". Had to use what I had on hand. I put chicken in a bag and added garlic powder, dried thyme and EVOO. Mixed until well coated. In a fry pan I heated EVOO and then did a quick brown on the chicken. Removed chicken and put in lined crock pot. I put a sliced sweet onion and fresh mushrooms in the same hot fry pan and deglazed the pan with wine. I added cream of celery and chicken and rice soups to the mushroom mixture. (It was all I had) Simmered for short time to mix well. I poured mixture over chicken in crock pot. It cooked on low for aprox. 2 hours and I served it over rice with a side salad. I could tell you how good it was but the empty crock pot does all the talking. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Thomas Hand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States