Super Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
Very good & easy. Left out the mushrooms as we don't care for them. I subbed one packet of french onion soup mix for the onion as some other reviewers recommended. Couldn't find chicken w/herb soup, so I used plain cream of chicken. I used about 1/2 cup of cooking sherry instead of the marsala. Very flavorful, but I would recommend a longer cooking time for more tender chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
We had this last night and it was fabulous! I used a regular yellow onion instead of a red one, and instead of Marsala wine I used a dash of red wine vinegar. I also added some herb chicken seasoning and a dash of garlic powder. During the last hour of cooking I put some broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots on top. Everything turned out great. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
This is one of my favorite recipes, but it's the first time that I've used it for a slow-cooker though. This is what I did... I used frozen pearl onions instead of the red onion, ~1/3 cup of cooking sherry (beer works great too) and a dash of seasoned pepper. Then I serve it over wide egg noodles (or rice is good too). Quick annd easy and yummy! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
Like the other reviewers I added onion soup mix but also left in a few white onions. I used a few dashes of generic white wine and also added about 3/4 can of milk while cooking to give it a little richer taste. Left out the mushrooms because I didn't have any. When the chicken (boneless skinless chicken thighs because they are cheaper) was done cooking (I left it in for about 6 hours alternating high and low on the cooker), I took it out and placed it in a dish, and then added a little flour to the pot, making a really nice gravy. Served over wide egg noodles... and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
This was definately easy. The results was not great. The chicken was bland, but there was a real heavy onion taste and smell. We like alittle onion...that's why I only used about 1/4 onion. Maybe I should have went with some others by using the liptons onion soup mix. Don't think I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
I thought this was very good and very easy. A good combination in my book! I followed the suggestions of a few others and added an envelope of Lipton Onion Soup Mix instead of the chopped purple onion. Also, I didn't have the cream of chicken and herb on hand so I tried Cream of Chicken Dijon soup instead. It had a great flavor! Most of all, I just couldn't believe that was all there was to it. Throw it all in the crock pot and a few hours later we had a nice dinner. I served it over rice one night, had a few leftovers that I served over small shell pasta for lunch later. Both were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Very easy recipe! My whole family loved it. I have tried this recipe with and without a packet of onion soup mix. Using the soup mix gives the recipe the added "kick" that it needs to liven it up. I have served this over rice, but egg noodles would probably be great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Super easy is right. I used whole chicken breast instead of strips and fresh mushrooms instead. It turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
Had to change the recipe slightly as I didn't have all the ingredients on hand. I used cream of chicken soup (w/out herbs), an onion soup mix, fresh mushrooms and white zin. I also used frozen chicken breasts that I cut up since I was in a hurry and cooked over medium-low heat for about 2 hours. My husband loved it!!! Haven't heard him rave like this in quite a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
With my daughter home with mono, I've cooked and reviewed more recipes in one month than I have in a year! This is a great and easy recipe which I also added a package of onion soup mix. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States