Super Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I made this last night, and while it was very easy, I thought it was only so-so. There is something missing. I couldn't find the the cream of chicken with herbs soup at the store, so I used cream of mushroom and a Tbsp of Italian herb seasoning. I also added a couple cloves of minced garlic and a 1/4 tsp ground black pepper. I served it over pasta. I can't quite put my finger on what's missing. Maybe salt? That could be why the people who put Lipton onion soup mix did like the dish. That soup mix is really high in salt. I don't think I will make this again. UPDATE: Yep, it was missing salt. I heated the leftovers and added some salt and it vastly improved the taste. A lot of reviewers said that they added Lipton onion soup mix, which made it too salty. So I recommend fixing the recipe as is, but adding salt and pepper to taste. My suggestion is 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Used dry onion soup mix instead of red onion. Quick, easy and economical dinner. Not fabulous, but tasty. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
As is: pretty bland. After reading reviews I browned the chicken in garlic, cayanne, crushed red pepper and rosemary. In the crockpot I added I used 2 cans of soup: Cream of Celery & Cream of Chicken. 3/4 can of milk. 3 cloves diced garlic, parsley, 1/2 onion, rosemary & chicken. Cooked for 3 hours. Last 20 mins I added 2 cups of whole wheat pasta to the crock pot. This way it was a solid 4 for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I did not care for this. It's an easy recipe, but a little bland. I had never tried the cream of chicken and herb soup before this, and now I know that I don't care for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was okay. I had to sub chicken stock for the wine because I didn't have any. I also used bonless, skinless chicken thighs because that is what we like. It tasted okay, it just didn't look very good. I shredded the chicken & put noodles in it to make chicken & noodles. It was better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vandalia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I thought it was good. Very easy to make, although just a tad bland. I did add 2 cloves of minced garlic and used fresh mushrooms. Next time will try adding something else for flavor. Needed 3 hours over low heat. Great over egg noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I used the onion soup mix as well and I thought it was a little to salty. Other than that, it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I changed nearly everything about this recipe. I used 2 cans of soup, 1 cream of chicken and mushroom and 1 98% fat free cream of chicken. I used pearl onions instead and fresh mushrooms and omitted the wine. I read other reviews about concerns over bland chicken, to fix that I browned my seasoned frozen chicken breasts over high heat and then added them to cook in the crock pot, it worked perfectly and I think it wouldn't have been as good without doing that. Served it over egg noodles with French bread. It was really yummy and a great concept. Thanks! ***UPDATE*** I finally managed to remember white wine at the store and it makes quite a bit of difference in the flavor. It's a pretty heavy sauce and the addition of the white wine gives it an almost crisp feeling in my mouth. It's a subtle difference and I noticed but my hubby didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Great taste and easy. Would be good over rice, noodles or mashed potatoes. I added a can of drained peas the last 30 minutes and turned it to high to be sure the chicken was cooked all the way through. Probably wouldnt have to do that if the chicken strips were thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
This wasn't that great. I'm giving a 3 for simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CariMel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States