Super Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I loved this! AlthoughI must admit, I used skinned chicken thigh on the bone (dark meat is just juicier!), which I quickly browned (2min max)with maragrine, chopped green onion and Mortons Seasoning Salt. Added an extra can of cream of mushroom and 3 tbs of marsala(could've added more). My husband HATES chicken...He LOVED this dish, because it was full of flavor and very juicy!!! Served it over white rice. Thanks for the basic idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisrow72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and I loved it. I served it over white rice and with a side of vegetables....Sooooo tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calhoun City, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Fort Wainwright, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and found it lacked flavor. So, I added 8 oz. of reduced fat Velveeta cheese and tada...it gave it the added flavor I felt it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was liked by both the kids and adults. We had about 2 1/2 lbs vs. the 1 1/2 so I added a can of cream of celery soup and, following other suggestions, used the onion soup mix instead of the onion. I don't like using the "low" setting on the crock pot for chicken, so I cooked on high for about 3 hours. The chicken was moist and flavorful. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
The flavor was good but the chicken was dry. Next time I will reduce the cooking time or not cut the chicken into strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
My daughter and I absolutely loved this dish (which I made with fresh mushrooms instead of canned), however my husband disliked it so much that he made himself a sandwich. I guess it's not for everyone. I'll have to make it again on a night when doh won't be home for dinner. Super easy and tasty. I served it over egg noodles with a side of brocolli. Thanks for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I made this last night for dinner and was extremely disappointed. It made the whole place smell wonderful so I couldn't wait to eat dinner. I did make some changes to it (after doing everything exactly as the recipe called for), I added a packet of onion soup like many suggested but then I also added some garlic, thyme, rosemary, poultry seasoning, oregano and a dash of celery salt. After I took the chicken out I added just a touch of flour to try and thicken the gravy and I then served it over jasmine rice. The whole dish just wasn't as flavorful as I would have liked at all and my boyfriend and I were quite disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is one of those recipes that my husband looks at me like I am crazy while I am throwing it all together, then while he is eating all he can say is "MMMM! This is awesome!" I use my crock pot alot, and this is one of the easiest, best dishes that I have done in a while-it always amazes me how just 4 ingredients thrown in a pot can make such a yummy dinner! I did make a few changes, as usual. I used 2 cans of soup because when I put the cream of chicken& herbs it just didn't look like alot, so I also threw in a cream of chicken & mushroom as well; but to be honest you would probably be fine with just the one can. I would have also seasoned and browned the chicken breasts first but I was pressed for time to get it in the crock pot, but next time I will definately do that. I used bone in chicken breasts,white onion and fresh sliced baby portabella mushrooms;and I also threw in some garlic and additional herbs. My 3 year old is a huge mushroom fan (the kid won't eat a piece of pizza without mushrooms!), so she loved this but everyone else did too! I am always looking for recipes that I can add to my slow cooker meal rotation and this is definately a keeper!!Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Yummy! Mine came out a bit dry, but that was probably because I decided to break in my new 6.5 quart crock pot using only 4 chicken breasts. I think that had I used my smaller one the chicken would have been covered by the sauce, making it moist. But the flavor was excellent, my husband really loved it. I served it with brown rice and mixed veggies, and the sauce was amazing on the rice. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GriffsMom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
The first time I made this recipe I did it as listed. As others said, it was a little bland and lacked the kick my family normally likes. The second time around, I marinated, seasoned and seared my chicken first, then added some potatoes and carrots to the mix. Because of the added ingredients and my desire for more sauce, I used 2 cans of cream of chicken and 1 can of cream of mushroom. Finally, I added some chicken stock, and halfway through cooking I added some more of my favorite seasonings to the mix. This came out SUPERB, and is going to be a staple for cold, busy days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culpeper, Virginia, USA
Living In: Clinton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States