Super Easy Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
As a few others have mentioned, we prefer Sloppy Joes that have a kick to them. Consequently, this recipe seemed pretty bland to me, and so I added a T. of Chili Pepper, Kosher salt, and about 1/2 c. of spicy barbecue sauce, which brought some life to our taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
We loved it! I used the "Homade Chili Sauce" brand that I bought from Safeway. I found another reviewer had mentioned it so I tried it instead of Heinz. I also used the mustard that's optional - I had Gulden's Spicy Brown mustard on hand so that went in (I eyeballed it) and I did use some brown sugar but way less than what was called for. I tasted it beforehand and realized it needed just a hint of sweet and again eyeballed it. It came out great. There were only 3 of us eating so I used 2 lbs. of ground beef and about 3/4 of an onion and less than a full cup of celery. Terrific recipe. Oh, and since another reviewer had mentioned perhaps sautéing the celery and onion with the beef while it was browning, I tried that. I seasoned it with salt and garlic powder. After it was done, I drained it, added a little more salt and then added everything else. I'll definitely make it again. I served it with Alexia brand potato/carrot/green bean sauté. It's frozen and fires up quickly in a pan with a oil-based seasoning pack that comes with it inside. Super easy kid-friendly meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Tried recipe last night. Because my wife and I are both diabetic we used splenda instead of brown sugar and was bread instead of rolls. It was great. Will try it with Agave nectar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Thank you for having the "Adjust the servings" click on! I like making it for 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
YUM. And yes, quick & easy. I like my joes sloppy, so I halved the meat, celery, and onion, but kept the quantities for the sauce ingredients the same. I used Heinz chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
These are wonderful and the only thing I would suggest is a teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce and better seasoning of the beef..salt and pepper etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Louisville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
What a simple recipe! I didnt have chili sauce so i used 1/2 C ketchup and 1/2 C bbq sauce. I also used celery seeds and added garlic powder. My dd's asked for this 2dys in a row! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
We've made these twice now and they are delicious! Going into the family recipe file. The first time I made them, I used regular vinegar and it smelled so much of that, I thought I had ruined them, but they were fantastic! So now I always use regular vinegar. We use 2 lbs. of ground round and keep the sauce portions the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsbucket91905

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This recipe was super easy and very good! My husband told me he liked it alot and he can be pretty picky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I thought this was really good! I halved the recipe but used more chili sauce than called for because it seemed a little dry without it. Great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States