Super Easy Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I subbed Steak-ums for the ground beef and rolled it up in a tortilla with cheese, heated long enough to melt the cheese. Delicious. We call them Sloppy Jose's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henniker, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Seriously, whenever I come across a recipe like this, simple yet amazing, I always ask my self, "why didn't I think of this?" No more canned sloppy Joe's for us! This recipe was perfect, no changes needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This was very good; much better than the stuff you buy in a can. I did however, only use 2 pounds of ground beef(and that was more than enough for my family of 3) and the 12 oz of chile sauce was still not enough. I would imagine the meat would be very dry if you use 3 lbs and ONLY the 12 oz of chile sauce. Next time I will up the amount to about 16 ounces. This was still delicious and I will definitely put it on the menu again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Point, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bellefontaine, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This was a hit in my house! My teenage son tends to be picky and even he loves it. I've made this several times and have used the optional mustard, not sure I taste a difference though. The recipe is super easy which is a hit with me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
We love this recipe in our family! I use about half the sugar, and I usually end up needing a little more sauce since I also add diced bell pepper and shredded carrots. My 2 yr old loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Loved it! The only thing I did was add about a teaspoon of sweet basil by accident but we still loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Used two bottles of sauce. Too dry otherwise. Great flavor. Will make again. Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Family loves these sloppy joes!!! Did not add celery (did not have on hand)and did add the mustard. One thing, I used 2 lbs ground beef and left sauce amounts as is and it worked out great - this one is a keeper, never buy the can again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nola chic
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
As a few others have mentioned, we prefer Sloppy Joes that have a kick to them. Consequently, this recipe seemed pretty bland to me, and so I added a T. of Chili Pepper, Kosher salt, and about 1/2 c. of spicy barbecue sauce, which brought some life to our taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
We loved it! I used the "Homade Chili Sauce" brand that I bought from Safeway. I found another reviewer had mentioned it so I tried it instead of Heinz. I also used the mustard that's optional - I had Gulden's Spicy Brown mustard on hand so that went in (I eyeballed it) and I did use some brown sugar but way less than what was called for. I tasted it beforehand and realized it needed just a hint of sweet and again eyeballed it. It came out great. There were only 3 of us eating so I used 2 lbs. of ground beef and about 3/4 of an onion and less than a full cup of celery. Terrific recipe. Oh, and since another reviewer had mentioned perhaps sautéing the celery and onion with the beef while it was browning, I tried that. I seasoned it with salt and garlic powder. After it was done, I drained it, added a little more salt and then added everything else. I'll definitely make it again. I served it with Alexia brand potato/carrot/green bean sauté. It's frozen and fires up quickly in a pan with a oil-based seasoning pack that comes with it inside. Super easy kid-friendly meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States