Super Easy Seared Ahi Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Olive oil? Are you kidding me? Olive oil has a low temperature smoke point, so using it in this recipe smoked up my entire house. Next time I'll be using grapeseed oil - much higher smoke point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Truitt Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
This recipe was super quick and easy. The breadcrumb mixture enhanced the flavor of the fish and added a perfect crispiness to the experience. The taste was exquisite. I served the ahi on a bed of freshly cut spinach, sprinkled with fresh lime juice and opened up a wonderful bottle of Malborough (New Zealand) 2003 Souvignon Blanc. A side of soy sauce was helpful, but not necessary. This recipe lived up to its name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
We found Ahi Tuna on sale the day after we had the appetizer out at a pricey restaurant. It was so easy and sooo yummy! We served it with a wasabi soy mixture to dip the pieces into. My only recommendation would be to use parmesan flavored bread crumbs or a mixture of parmesan cheese and bread crumbs because the coating can be a bit dry. It takes practice to get the searing talent down to a science, but once you do you will want to wow your friends with this fancy and inexpensive recipe all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Worcester, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This was so awesome, I cannot believe I made this. I love ahi, but in a restaurant I either get sushi or I get an ahi steak super rare. Either way, it's always a "naked" piece of fish. So I was a bit apprehensive about adding the breadcrumbs...but I didn't want my fish to be boring, so I did it. I want to make this every nite. I love this. The breadcrumbs get nice and crispy and 45 seconds per side was perfect. Totally recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
This was delicious and as quick and easy as a recipe could be. I didn't have Italian seasoned bread crumbs, so I sprinkled a little Italian seasoning before using regular bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
What a tasty and easy recipe! Bought our tuna at Costco and had dinner on the table in 10 minutes! My first time and I will definately make it again... Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
Super easy. Got tuna from Costco. Served as an appetizer & received many oohs and aahs from guests. Cooked perfectly at 45 seconds per side. Recommend wasabi sauce as a dip or drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Easy to cook and tastes great. The prep time was 5 minutes and the total cooking time for 2 nice size ahi fillets was about 2 minutes (30 seconds on each side).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This receipe is good. I love Ahi and if you have been to Roy's Restaurant, they make a great sauce to accent it. It is made with dijon and soy. It's very spicy. I use a soy and wasabi dip for this to add some heat! Add some chopped cabbage salad on the side for some Asian flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Xd
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Don't bread Ahi like that photo #1 unless you're trying to make Tempura Ahi :) It's not Catfish. If you do bread it, make sure it doesn't look like it's deep fried. It’s fun to experiment with Seared Ahi and all the possible infusions of flavor. Sweet, Salty, Bitter or Sour. Create what the palette desires or modify it to go with any Good Wine or Crafted Brew :) I like the Sesame oil and Parmesan idea so I'll be experimenting a lot. Here's how I do it: Cut thick even pieces and coat in a Pepper/Herb Mixture. I like to mix herbs like Dill, Dried Crushed Lemon(natural), Poppy Seeds, a pinch of Clove Powder is surprisingly good, Dried Chopped Onion or Garlic. Sear each side in Oil for 10 to 30 sec. depending on thickness and your rareness preference. 1/8in at most. (Seared doesn't mean deep fried or fully cooked) The herbs seared but inside should be pink and tender. I add Garlic Cloves to my oil. For the dipping sauce I use a Ponzu or light Teriyaki with a bit of citrus. Soy is salty for me. Wasabi (Horseradish, Spirulina) Powder is best but it slowly gets milder so use it 5-15 min. after the paste is made for best result. Good Pickled Ginger may be hard to find. Store bought Pickled Ginger is too sweet for me so I add Cider Vinegar for a time. BTW, it's easy to make but if you use Cider Vinegar it won’t turn pink. Good compliments with your Ahi are Bitter Greens like Herb Salad or Baby Spinach, Green Sprouts(Radish Sprouts for me) Cucumber sliced thin and sliced Papaya Skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Easy Tuna Casserole

This incredibly simple tuna casserole uses just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States