Super Easy Seared Ahi Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Who knew ahi tuna was so easy? Love it! Instead of breadcrumbs, I used black sesame seeds and it was more Asian-inspired and delicious. Thanks for sharing this simple and wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzicat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I laughed when I was done and how easy this was. I followed intructions to a "t"...whole process tookall of 40 seconds....second time I made it I served it over cilantro brown rice I had made. Delicious and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I was skeptical of the breading but mixed it with sesame seeds, parmesan, a little cayenne pepper, and sea salt and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Denny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
So fast and so good. The bread crumbs enhanced the flavor and the olive oil made it just perfect. Great Recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
When will people learn?? Is this 1" or 2" or 3" thick? Weight is not enough. Also, is it fridge cold or room temperature? Makes a difference, just like with meat. Please, people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Not bad. I didn't use olive oil for searing as the smoke point for Olive oil is too low for such cooking. I used canola oil instead as that was what I had otherwise. I will try this again when I can purchase tuna on sale again. Fish is so expensive here in Hokkaido these days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MiraInazuma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
First time! Excellent. I rubbed coarse sea salt, coarse ground pepper and a tad of caynene and oil all over. Cut into 1-2 " squares and BBq'd on sears 45 seconds on 4 sides and YUMMY!. Did make wasabi, ali oili, seafoood sauce, soya/wasabi but with the crust, the dips were not necessary. Will be doing this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
So quick and easy that my toddler didn't get into trouble a single time while I was cooking! I did not have a problem when using the olive oil. I omitted the salt because I just don't like salt so I used a little balsamic vinegar for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This recipe is a great base that you can expand on to suit your tastes. I was looking for a non-asian flavored seared tuna dish so I started here. Adding some parmesan cheese to the coating and a little bit of butter to the olive oil in the pan made it a 5 star recipe the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agnesb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Very good! The grade of tuna is very important. Mine came from Costco and surprisingly it was perfect. Rinsed tuna and patted dry. Added a touch of salt and pepper on only one side of tuna so as not to over power the flavor of the tuna. For the breading, used 1/2 cup of Italian bread crumbs and 1 TBS of grated fresh parmesan cheese. Mix together. I put the breading in a large baggie added rinsed tuna and shook to coat. Removed from the bag and dredged the tuna in bowl containing 2 beaten eggs. I then added the tuna back to the breading bag and coated again. This makes and excellent coating. Before cooking, I worked a bit more of the remaining breading into the tuna. Heat olive oil. Be very careful NOT to over cook tuna about 1 minute each side, a bit more if the tuna is really thick or if you do not care for rare tuna. Remove from pan and serve tuna on a bed of fresh spinach. Sprinkle tuna with sesame seeds and as a dip use a bit of wasabi and soy sauce. I have also used Black Swan, Jaipur, a lemon grass, ginger, garlic dressing/marinade; this too gives an amazing flavor. It was Great!!!!! A must try !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Easy Tuna Casserole

This incredibly simple tuna casserole uses just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States