Super Easy Seared Ahi Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Really Good! I made sure the pan was super hot with the olive oil and it was fine. Only thing I had a hard time getting the bread crumbs to stick so brushed tiny bit of honey while putting salt & pepper on..did the trick and little sweet & savory! good recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rookiecookie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Forest, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was my first time preparing Ahi tuna and this recipe was simple and delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Strasburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Xd
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Don't bread Ahi like that photo #1 unless you're trying to make Tempura Ahi :) It's not Catfish. If you do bread it, make sure it doesn't look like it's deep fried. It’s fun to experiment with Seared Ahi and all the possible infusions of flavor. Sweet, Salty, Bitter or Sour. Create what the palette desires or modify it to go with any Good Wine or Crafted Brew :) I like the Sesame oil and Parmesan idea so I'll be experimenting a lot. Here's how I do it: Cut thick even pieces and coat in a Pepper/Herb Mixture. I like to mix herbs like Dill, Dried Crushed Lemon(natural), Poppy Seeds, a pinch of Clove Powder is surprisingly good, Dried Chopped Onion or Garlic. Sear each side in Oil for 10 to 30 sec. depending on thickness and your rareness preference. 1/8in at most. (Seared doesn't mean deep fried or fully cooked) The herbs seared but inside should be pink and tender. I add Garlic Cloves to my oil. For the dipping sauce I use a Ponzu or light Teriyaki with a bit of citrus. Soy is salty for me. Wasabi (Horseradish, Spirulina) Powder is best but it slowly gets milder so use it 5-15 min. after the paste is made for best result. Good Pickled Ginger may be hard to find. Store bought Pickled Ginger is too sweet for me so I add Cider Vinegar for a time. BTW, it's easy to make but if you use Cider Vinegar it won’t turn pink. Good compliments with your Ahi are Bitter Greens like Herb Salad or Baby Spinach, Green Sprouts(Radish Sprouts for me) Cucumber sliced thin and sliced Papaya Skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
We have made this the last few years at christmas and it is great. I cook some more well done for my family members who don't like sushi. For those of us who do like sushi, can't beat this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I don't like this kind of tuna, but my Dad loves fish, and he said that this is some of the best stuff he has ever tasted. My only recommendation is to use a cast iron pan and sear the tuna on high in grape seed oil - it wasn't seared quite enough in olive oil. Other then that, a wonderful & easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This recipe title says it all. Couldn't have been easier or any better for a super delicious, succulent Ahi steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This recipe was very tasty, but the olive oil was smoky (we'll use something different next time). We also used Panko breadcrumbs instead of the recommended Italian ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was so easy and yummy! My family said it was the best thing I ever cooked. The sashimi-grade thick tuna cuts I bought were kind of expensive at Whole Foods, but I still spent way less than I would at any restaurant serving something this good. Make sure you have tongs at the ready to flip the tuna after each 45 seconds is up, also using them to hold the tuna on its sides in the pan to sear every part of the outside. I used Panko bread crumbs and they were SO delish. I also gave everyone a little dish of soy sauce on the side for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Who knew ahi tuna was so easy? Love it! Instead of breadcrumbs, I used black sesame seeds and it was more Asian-inspired and delicious. Thanks for sharing this simple and wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzicat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Easy Tuna Casserole

This incredibly simple tuna casserole uses just five ingredients.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States