Super Easy Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
These are super easy & super delicious! I have made these more than a dozen times - they come out wonderful each time. I make the following changes: Use two 6oz cans salmon instead of one 7oz can (or two pre-drained 3oz packets). Add garlic. Use lime juice instead of lemon pepper - makes a huge difference in the taste. Also add frozen onions and green bell peppers. Before cooking I spray each patty once on each side with spray butter which makes them brown nicely. To be healthier, you can substitute spray olive oil if you can find it. I followed another's advice and make a sauce with mayo, lime juice & dill for dipping. Like I said, these come out consistently fantastic. I have served these at dinner parties with many compliments & my husband asks me to make these at least once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
These were Good and my husband liked them better then I did. Like many other reviewers I found these to be a bit dry. I made the recipe as is. I will try adding more olive oil next time and sauteeing the green onions in butter. I will make this again. This recipe has alot of potential. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Great basic recipe! Modify it with your favorite seasonings (I used garlic powder, onion powder and a little Cajun seasoning) to make it your own or just make it the old-fashioned way. Great comfort food, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
These salmon cakes were extremely dry. I even added two eggs. I wouldnt use as many cracker/bread crumbs next time. It would be nice to taste more of the salmon and not so much "bread" taste. The flavor was great! I did saute the green onions with fresh minced garlic. I added garlic powder, black pepper, fresh lemon juice, and a bit of salt. I served them with a Basil Aioli rather than the traditional tartar sauce. If they were more moist I would have rated this recipe higher. I will make them again as they were simple....but definitley need MOISTURE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
We like these a lot because they are fast and healthy. At anothers suggestion sauteed the onion and also added finely chopped 1/2 stalk of celery & a squeeze of lemom juice. Have also substitued the round buttery crackers for the saltines, which worked well. My husband is very fond of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I was looking for a very simple and healthful recipe for salmon cakes, and this seemed to fit the bill perfectly; however, the end result was a total disappointment. They were much too dry and not at all tasty. I will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Unbelievably quick, so tasty and so healthy. I reconmend it highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I noted that some reviewers commented on "way too much cracker crumbs"...well, if you read the recipe it only calls for 2/3 cup crumbs in the salmon mixture and the rest is for coating the patties....otherwise, this is a good recipe for salmon cakes; love that they are baked instead of fried. I did spray the baking sheet with a pam-like spray (natural one).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
hey were pretty good, i will make again. I added some lemon juice, and I also used Tony's and some red wine vinigar. I did increase the olive oil and decrease the cracker crumbs. I also doubled the recipe because of the amount of salmon I had, and made the cakes bigger, they would have been so tiny! I do plan on using it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Oxford, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Easy and yummy! I decided to make a batch of these and bring them to work since I am the only one in the family that eats fish. I made a dipping sauce to go with it: 2 tbsp light mayo, 1 tbsp lemon juice, pinch of basil. Everyone who tried it loved it. The dipping sauce went very well with it. I will make these for the party I'm having next week! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bibs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Easy Mustard-Glazed Broiled Salmon

Just a couple basic ingredients can make broiled salmon amazing.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States